Page 11 of 30 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 295

Thread: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

  1. #101
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Falls Church, VA
    Beans
    691
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

    Quote Originally Posted by Ayuthia View Post
    @Jamie Jackson - SaxxiE is using Ubuntu 64-bit, but the driver in 2f is only for 32-bit. Do you know of a 64-bit version?
    How do you know it's 32 bit only? (I'm not saying you're wrong, I'm just curious.) I have yet to see a driver that worked for 32-bit, but not 64-bit, systems. Maybe this is a first, but maybe not...

  2. #102
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    34

    Re: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie Jackson View Post
    How do you know it's 32 bit only? (I'm not saying you're wrong, I'm just curious.) I have yet to see a driver that worked for 32-bit, but not 64-bit, systems. Maybe this is a first, but maybe not...
    I have got a 64 bit version from somewhere - its called 'b43-fwcutter_011-1_amd64.deb'

    I double click on it, it installs and says i already have the same version (i think i may have installed it about 100 times before)

    S

  3. #103
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Beans
    52

    Question Re: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

    OK, this is a bit bizarre now. I took my laptop to the local coffee shop with public wifi access (remember this is a new machine so it's never been out of the home yet). Guess what, everything WORKS. I was able to connect through the network icon in the panel > "Manual Configuration..." > "Wireless connection" > selecting the public network. Here is some data on the connection and on what I am scanning on my system. We are talking same frequency, same channel, also unencrypted, just as at home.

    But, other laptops can connect to my home modem wirelessly. So what could be going on? Any thoughts?? Is there some compatibility quirk between Broadcom and the Westell Versalink modem at my home?

    Code:
    ~$ lshw -C network
    WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
      *-network               
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
           vendor: Marvell Technology Group Ltd.
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:09:00.0
           logical name: eth0
           version: 12
           serial: 00:21:9b:e0:06:00
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
           configuration: broadcast=yes driver=sky2 driverversion=1.20 firmware=N/A latency=0 module=sky2 multicast=yes
      *-network
           description: Wireless interface
           product: BCM4312 802.11b/g
           vendor: Broadcom Corporation
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:0b:00.0
           logical name: wlan0
           version: 01
           serial: 00:22:69:19:f4:1d
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
           configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ndiswrapper+bcmwl5 driverversion=1.52+Broadcom,09/20/2007, 4.170. ip=192.168.1.176 latency=0 module=ndiswrapper multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11g
    ~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0
    [sudo] password for ameet: 
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"linksys"  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:0C:41:BE:83:F5   
              Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:32 dBm   
              RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B   
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:75/100  Signal level:-48 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    ~$ iwlist scan
    lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    wlan0     Scan completed :
              Cell 01 - Address: 00:0C:41:BE:83:F5
                        ESSID:"linksys"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                        Quality:73/100  Signal level:-49 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                        Encryption key:off
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                                  48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                        Extra:bcn_int=100
                        Extra:atim=0
              Cell 02 - Address: 00:13:10:A0:B9:05
                        ESSID:"Roofscapes"
    ...
              Cell 03 - Address: 00:12:0E:83:DB:6D
                        ESSID:"07B407417185"
    ...
              Cell 04 - Address: 00:13:10:34:E3:3F
                        ESSID:"linksys"
    ...
              Cell 05 - Address: 00:14:BF:ED:FE:DB
                        ESSID:"birdnest"
    ...
    ~$
    Also, I still would like to know how I could get back the list of available networks from the pull-down network panel icon. I think I disabled it when I ran the following code (recommended by Ayuthia). The computer has been rebooted several times since then but, while the network icon is back, the list of available wifi networks is not.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ayuthia View Post
    If you are not using encryption on your router (WEP/WPA), you could try turning off network manager and try connecting manually:
    Code:
    sudo /etc/dbus-1/event.d/26NetworkManagerDispatcher stop
    sudo /etc/dbus-1/event.d/25NetworkManager stop
    sudo dhclient -r
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid name-of-router
    sudo dhclient wlan0
    This will turn off network manager for this session. Just replace name-of-router with the name of your router. I am thinking that there might just be an issue with network manager but I could be wrong.

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Beans
    4,312
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie Jackson View Post
    How do you know it's 32 bit only? (I'm not saying you're wrong, I'm just curious.) I have yet to see a driver that worked for 32-bit, but not 64-bit, systems. Maybe this is a first, but maybe not...
    The 64-bit files usually use the bcmwl564.sys files and this one did not have it. I also looked in the .inf file for any mention of a 64-bit and could not find anything on it. I could be completely wrong about it, but all the other files usually have the some mention of 64-bit in the .inf file.

  5. #105
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Beans
    4,312
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

    Quote Originally Posted by ShaxxiE View Post
    I have got a 64 bit version from somewhere - its called 'b43-fwcutter_011-1_amd64.deb'

    I double click on it, it installs and says i already have the same version (i think i may have installed it about 100 times before)

    S
    The b43-fwcutter is the firmware cutter for the b43 driver. It is a different driver than NDISwrapper and generally causes conflicts with NDISwrapper and that is why the driver gets blacklisted.

  6. #106
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Beans
    4,312
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

    Quote Originally Posted by Ameet View Post
    OK, this is a bit bizarre now. I took my laptop to the local coffee shop with public wifi access (remember this is a new machine so it's never been out of the home yet). Guess what, everything WORKS. I was able to connect through the network icon in the panel > "Manual Configuration..." > "Wireless connection" > selecting the public network. Here is some data on the connection and on what I am scanning on my system. We are talking same frequency, same channel, also unencrypted, just as at home.

    But, other laptops can connect to my home modem wirelessly. So what could be going on? Any thoughts?? Is there some compatibility quirk between Broadcom and the Westell Versalink modem at my home?

    Code:
    ~$ lshw -C network
    WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
      *-network               
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
           vendor: Marvell Technology Group Ltd.
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:09:00.0
           logical name: eth0
           version: 12
           serial: 00:21:9b:e0:06:00
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
           configuration: broadcast=yes driver=sky2 driverversion=1.20 firmware=N/A latency=0 module=sky2 multicast=yes
      *-network
           description: Wireless interface
           product: BCM4312 802.11b/g
           vendor: Broadcom Corporation
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:0b:00.0
           logical name: wlan0
           version: 01
           serial: 00:22:69:19:f4:1d
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
           configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ndiswrapper+bcmwl5 driverversion=1.52+Broadcom,09/20/2007, 4.170. ip=192.168.1.176 latency=0 module=ndiswrapper multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11g
    ~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0
    [sudo] password for ameet: 
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"linksys"  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:0C:41:BE:83:F5   
              Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:32 dBm   
              RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B   
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:75/100  Signal level:-48 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    ~$ iwlist scan
    lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    wlan0     Scan completed :
              Cell 01 - Address: 00:0C:41:BE:83:F5
                        ESSID:"linksys"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                        Quality:73/100  Signal level:-49 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                        Encryption key:off
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                                  48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                        Extra:bcn_int=100
                        Extra:atim=0
              Cell 02 - Address: 00:13:10:A0:B9:05
                        ESSID:"Roofscapes"
    ...
              Cell 03 - Address: 00:12:0E:83:DB:6D
                        ESSID:"07B407417185"
    ...
              Cell 04 - Address: 00:13:10:34:E3:3F
                        ESSID:"linksys"
    ...
              Cell 05 - Address: 00:14:BF:ED:FE:DB
                        ESSID:"birdnest"
    ...
    ~$
    Also, I still would like to know how I could get back the list of available networks from the pull-down network panel icon. I think I disabled it when I ran the following code (recommended by Ayuthia). The computer has been rebooted several times since then but, while the network icon is back, the list of available wifi networks is not.
    As far as I know, the command that I gave you should not have disable the list of networks because it just stops the process from running and should not change the configuration of network manager. However, if it did, I think you should be able to get them back by looking for the wireless icon and changing it back to roaming mode.

  7. #107
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Beans
    4,312
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

    Quote Originally Posted by Ameet View Post
    OK, this is a bit bizarre now. I took my laptop to the local coffee shop with public wifi access (remember this is a new machine so it's never been out of the home yet). Guess what, everything WORKS. I was able to connect through the network icon in the panel > "Manual Configuration..." > "Wireless connection" > selecting the public network. Here is some data on the connection and on what I am scanning on my system. We are talking same frequency, same channel, also unencrypted, just as at home.

    But, other laptops can connect to my home modem wirelessly. So what could be going on? Any thoughts?? Is there some compatibility quirk between Broadcom and the Westell Versalink modem at my home?

    Code:
    ~$ lshw -C network
    WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
      *-network               
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
           vendor: Marvell Technology Group Ltd.
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:09:00.0
           logical name: eth0
           version: 12
           serial: 00:21:9b:e0:06:00
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
           configuration: broadcast=yes driver=sky2 driverversion=1.20 firmware=N/A latency=0 module=sky2 multicast=yes
      *-network
           description: Wireless interface
           product: BCM4312 802.11b/g
           vendor: Broadcom Corporation
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:0b:00.0
           logical name: wlan0
           version: 01
           serial: 00:22:69:19:f4:1d
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
           configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ndiswrapper+bcmwl5 driverversion=1.52+Broadcom,09/20/2007, 4.170. ip=192.168.1.176 latency=0 module=ndiswrapper multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11g
    ~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0
    [sudo] password for ameet: 
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"linksys"  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:0C:41:BE:83:F5   
              Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:32 dBm   
              RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B   
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:75/100  Signal level:-48 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    ~$ iwlist scan
    lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    wlan0     Scan completed :
              Cell 01 - Address: 00:0C:41:BE:83:F5
                        ESSID:"linksys"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                        Quality:73/100  Signal level:-49 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                        Encryption key:off
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                                  48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                        Extra:bcn_int=100
                        Extra:atim=0
              Cell 02 - Address: 00:13:10:A0:B9:05
                        ESSID:"Roofscapes"
    ...
              Cell 03 - Address: 00:12:0E:83:DB:6D
                        ESSID:"07B407417185"
    ...
              Cell 04 - Address: 00:13:10:34:E3:3F
                        ESSID:"linksys"
    ...
              Cell 05 - Address: 00:14:BF:ED:FE:DB
                        ESSID:"birdnest"
    ...
    ~$
    Also, I still would like to know how I could get back the list of available networks from the pull-down network panel icon. I think I disabled it when I ran the following code (recommended by Ayuthia). The computer has been rebooted several times since then but, while the network icon is back, the list of available wifi networks is not.
    As far as I know, the command that I gave you should not have disable the list of networks because it just stops the process from running and should not change the configuration of network manager. However, if it did, I think you should be able to get them back by looking for the wireless icon and changing it back to roaming mode. Unfortunately, I am currently in Arch using KDE so I can't point you to the exact location.

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Falls Church, VA
    Beans
    691
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

    Quote Originally Posted by ShaxxiE View Post
    I have got a 64 bit version from somewhere - its called 'b43-fwcutter_011-1_amd64.deb'

    I double click on it, it installs and says i already have the same version (i think i may have installed it about 100 times before)

    S
    As Ayuthia mentioned, that deb from above is contrary to ndiswrapper.

    Question: You said your machine's custom, correct? What is the make/model/version that's on your wireless device's sticker (or on the box it came in, assuming you've got it)? (e.g., LinkSys/WRFOOBAR/v2)

    I want to take a look at its support site to compare with what I've got. If it's a hassle, don't worry about it.

  9. #109
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Falls Church, VA
    Beans
    691
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

    Quote Originally Posted by Ameet View Post
    Also, I still would like to know how I could get back the list of available networks from the pull-down network panel icon. I think I disabled it when I ran the following code (recommended by Ayuthia). The computer has been rebooted several times since then but, while the network icon is back, the list of available wifi networks is not.
    For kicks, please post the output of "cat /etc/network/interfaces"

    It should only have:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

  10. #110
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Falls Church, VA
    Beans
    691
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx in 5 minutes with ndiswrapper/WPA for fresh installs

    Quote Originally Posted by Ayuthia View Post
    The 64-bit files usually use the bcmwl564.sys files and this one did not have it. I also looked in the .inf file for any mention of a 64-bit and could not find anything on it. I could be completely wrong about it, but all the other files usually have the some mention of 64-bit in the .inf file.
    Okay, I'll wait and see what ShaxxiE's device's physical label says, so I can check that vendor's support site/driver against what I've got.

    The 32/64-bit thing might be a red herring, but we'll see.

Page 11 of 30 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •