Thread: I/O error Error reading boot cd.

Beans

I/O error Error reading boot cd.

Well I'm totally new to Ubuntu and Linux. I'm fed up with Windows and looking for a good alternative. Anyways I consider myself decently skilled with computers, fairly good with a couple programming languages, fluent in php, built my own pc, etc. Anyways I downloaded the ISO ubuntu-8.04.1-desktop-i386 and used InfraRecorder to burn it to a CD, but when I boot up my computer with the cd in the tray it comes up to the ubuntu menu, then no matter what I select (Install, Try Out, Check for Errors, etc) it says I/O Error, Error reading boot cd and gives me a button that says Reboot. I've tried burning the cd on 2 different computers with 3 different drives, 3 different ISO burning applications (InfraRecorder, MagicISO, and ISORecorder), on 4 different disks (1 Memorex CD-R, 3 Pengo CD-RW's), and 2 seperate downloads of the ISO. Yet all end up with the same error. So I'm asking, what could I be doing wrong and what should I try?

Oh I forgot this computer that I'm trying to install on has the following specs:
    MSI K9VGM-V AM2 VIA K8M890 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Brisbane 2.3GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor Model ADO4400DOBOX
    Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
    WINTEC AMPO 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory Model 3AMD2667-2G2-R
    Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2

The hard drive has 2 partitions, 1 with windows xp and 1 that's empty.

All help is appreciated, thanks very much.

-modchamp

Edit: Oh also I already checked the md5 hash on the ISO and it matches that of the site, though I'm not sure how to check the md5 hash on the cd.
    Last edited by modchamp; July 11th, 2008 at 03:52 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: I/O error Error reading boot cd.

Since you have a SATA drive, the following has helped some in getting around similar problems.