Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: GRUB no longer lists XP since update to 7.10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    10

    Unhappy GRUB no longer lists XP since update to 7.10

    So here's the story. I had Ubuntu 7.04 on this machine, and the last time I've run it before this weekend was last August. It is set up in a dualboot with XP Pro, and I use XP Pro as my primary OS. There was a power outage last night while I was using XP, which must have corrupted the ntfs partition, since on my following reboot, when I hit XP on the grub bootloader, it said Error ## (can't remember the number but I'm gonna get 17?) and "Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to reboot." So I did this a few times and realized that XP was not going to boot.
    I then started up Ubuntu which worked fine, and it asked if I wanted to update to 7.10. I let it update thinking maybe it'll fix it but it ended up being an idiotic move, since when I then rebooted and opened /boot/grub/menu.lst, the Windows entry was gone.

    I then tried to see if I can atleast salvage files from the partition so I attempted to mount it via ntfs-3g. The result?

    Code:
    $MFT has invalid magic.
    Failed to load $MFT: Input/output error
    Failed to mount '/dev/sda1': Input/output error
    NTFS is either inconsistent, or you have hardware faults, or you have a
    SoftRAID/FakeRAID hardware. In the first case run chkdsk /f on Windows
    then reboot into Windows TWICE. The usage of the /f parameter is very
    important! If you have SoftRAID/FakeRAID then first you must activate
    it and mount a different device under the /dev/mapper/ directory, (e.g.
    /dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1). Please see the 'dmraid' documentation
    for the details.
    I then ran ntfsfix which outputted:

    Code:
    paras@paras-desktop:~$ sudo ntfsfix /dev/sda1
    Mounting volume... Failed to load $MFT : Input/output error
    Failed to startup volume : Input/output error
    FAILED
    Attempting to correct errors... Failed to load $MFT : Input/output error
    FAILED
    Failed to startup volume : Input/output error
    Volume is corrupt. You should run chkdsk.
    Any ideas, anyone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    /earth/US/Illinois
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: GRUB no longer lists XP since update to 7.10

    If you have an XP disc/recovery disc you can do chkdsk from it. If you open /boot/grub/menu.lst there is a sample Windows entry in there that you can uncomment and use to try to boot into your Windows installation first.
    Dialup or no internet on your Ubuntu box? Have no fear, Keryx is here! Keryx Project
    My blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    273
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: GRUB no longer lists XP since update to 7.10

    Code:
    title		Windows Vista/Longhorn (loader)
    root		(hd0,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader	+1
    This took care of booting to Windows for me. Provided your Windows installation was on the "hda0" position (the first partition).

    The title is completely user preference. You can have your title be whatever you want.
    Angel's Egg: Go watch this, and then the movie. You have never seen anything like it.
    A shout-out to the Linux Mint team for their excellent port of Ubuntu.
    Use any OS worry-free with Derek's Virtual Box.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: GRUB no longer lists XP since update to 7.10

    Thanks for all your help, but I found out the NTFS master table was corrupted. I connected it to another PC and had it in slave, and found data recovery software which helped a bit. I guess there's nothing else i can do now except replace the drive.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    /earth/US/Illinois
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: GRUB no longer lists XP since update to 7.10

    You should be able to recover your files and then just reformat the drive, no need to buy a new one.
    Dialup or no internet on your Ubuntu box? Have no fear, Keryx is here! Keryx Project
    My blog

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: GRUB no longer lists XP since update to 7.10

    Yeah I was considering that as well, but I talked to Dell Support and the rep. said that there were damaged clusters and whatnot.

    Hell, if Dell is offering a free drive replacement, might as well take it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    /earth/US/Illinois
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: GRUB no longer lists XP since update to 7.10

    Quote Originally Posted by Insomniac18 View Post
    Yeah I was considering that as well, but I talked to Dell Support and the rep. said that there were damaged clusters and whatnot.

    Hell, if Dell is offering a free drive replacement, might as well take it.
    haha anything free is well earned! just hope it doesnt happen often!
    Dialup or no internet on your Ubuntu box? Have no fear, Keryx is here! Keryx Project
    My blog

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: GRUB no longer lists XP since update to 7.10

    Amen to that!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •