Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Using Nice

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    61

    Using Nice

    I am trying to run a game and am getting lower framerates than I should be. I read that "nice" can be run from the command line to give a higher priority to an app. I keep getting errors when I try to run it. I have tried "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\WoW.exe" and I get the error "cannot set niceness: Permission denied". I am running Hardy and have tried everything I can find to increase the framerates, this is the last hope.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    London
    Beans
    262
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Using Nice

    I don't think that nice will work for you in this instance as there is probably something else you need to change. Which version of WINE are you using, for example? What settings have you already changed? What is your best frame rate? Take a look over here:

    http://www.wowwiki.com/Linux/Wine

    for some settings and info.
    Last edited by Xerp; July 5th, 2008 at 04:29 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    130

    Re: Using Nice

    Quote Originally Posted by szaqlon View Post
    I am trying to run a game and am getting lower framerates than I should be. I read that "nice" can be run from the command line to give a higher priority to an app. I keep getting errors when I try to run it. I have tried "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\WoW.exe" and I get the error "cannot set niceness: Permission denied". I am running Hardy and have tried everything I can find to increase the framerates, this is the last hope.
    Using Hardy, Nice will not increase your framerates.Using Nice commands might have worked on earlier Ubuntu versions with older kernels,but in Hardy it is best not to change Nice settings.If you want the best framerates in WoW,I think, it's best to tweak Wine and run WoW on a dedicated X server.These following links helped me tremendously.

    http://ubuntu-utah.ubuntuforums.org/...d.php?t=497332
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=3377903
    http://www.wowwiki.com/Linux/Wine
    Last edited by Marshal0505; July 5th, 2008 at 04:41 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    61

    Re: Using Nice

    I have been through wowwiki thoroughly, but I will check these other two. If it helped you hopefully it will work for me as well, Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    130

    Re: Using Nice

    Quote Originally Posted by szaqlon View Post
    I have been through wowwiki thoroughly, but I will check these other two. If it helped you hopefully it will work for me as well, Thanks.
    No problem,post back here if you need further help

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Using Nice

    If you want to user nice values below 0 you need to run as root.

    sudo nice ....
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    61

    Re: Using Nice

    I seem to be having a problem with the xswitch script. I have it in /usr/bin but what command do you need to actually launch the game?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    61

    Re: Using Nice

    I think I figured it out, but I keep getting an error message that says "The application "-d" could not be started". When I click ok another little box pops up that says "switch back to desktop?" Doesn't matter if I hit ok or cancel it brings me back to a login screen.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •