Thread: [SOLVED] Microphone does not work

Beans

[SOLVED] Microphone does not work

Hi everyone, I am new to linux and to Ubuntu. I recently installed Ubuntu 8.04 on my Dell PC and I am very happy because everything is working except the microphone which I would need for Skype.

I have been looking for several threads about this topic and tried some of the suggestions but nothing worked

I can say that I can hear sound from the speakers and from the headphone, so I believe that the sound card is properly recognized and configured. But when I try my minijack microphone (which works with Windows) I cannot hear my voice, record it with Sound Recorder or Skype.

In sound preferences I set ALSA in Sound Capture and in the Volume Control I enabled everything in the Preferences and in the Tab Recording I unmute Capture and set the volume at 100% (I have the TABS: Playback, Recording, Switches and Options, in Recording I have Capture and Digital but I mute digital, it only makes "digital" noise and in Options I have IEC958 Playback Source put to ADC).

The output of aplay -l is:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****

card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: AD198x Analog [AD198x Analog]

Subdevices: 1/1

Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: AD198x Digital [AD198x Digital]

Subdevices: 1/1

Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

That of lspci -v regarding the audio device is:

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)

Subsystem: Dell OptiPlex 745

Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16

Memory at dfffc000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]

Capabilities: <access denied>

I don't know what else I should report. I will be very grateful if someone from the community could help fixing my problem.

gadec

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

Re: Microphone does not work

When you've found an adequate answer to your post, click on "thread tools" and mark the thread as solved.