Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: [SOLVED] GRUB error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    92
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Cool [SOLVED] GRUB error

    So I used the partition editor in Vista to make a 10 GB partition of unallocated space.
    During the installation process of Ubuntu, I clicked the Guided installation that uses continuous free space (the second option).
    It went through the whole installation process without a problem, and asked me to reboot. I rebooted and I now get:

    Code:
    GRUB Loading stage1.5.
    
    GRUB loading, please wait...
    Error 22
    How do I get the Vista back with all the files intact and Ubuntu installed with a dualboot on the same 10 GB partition?
    The statement below is true.
    The statement above is false.


    my Ubuntu Screenshot

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    92
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: GRUB error

    anyone? please help

    *bump*
    The statement below is true.
    The statement above is false.


    my Ubuntu Screenshot

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    4,714
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: GRUB error

    We need a bit more information to help you. Please boot from the LiveCD. Open a terminal, then post the output of

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    19

    Re: GRUB error

    Are you trying to say that you tried installing both OSs on the SAME partition?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Beverley, UK
    Beans
    733
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: GRUB error

    Quote Originally Posted by Magoffire View Post
    Are you trying to say that you tried installing both OSs on the SAME partition?
    When you use the largest free continuous space, Ubuntu installs on the unallocated space, not the same partition as another OS.

    abuakel, please could you post the complete contents of your menu.lst file. To do this, boot from the LiveCD (or anything else you can access the files on), and go to the location - /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Then, just copy and paste the contents.
    Everything that has a Beginning, has an End

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    92
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: GRUB error

    Quote Originally Posted by WRDN View Post
    When you use the largest free continuous space, Ubuntu installs on the unallocated space, not the same partition as another OS.

    abuakel, please could you post the complete contents of your menu.lst file. To do this, boot from the LiveCD (or anything else you can access the files on), and go to the location - /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Then, just copy and paste the contents.
    sorry it took me so long, I had to find a creative way of getting the results since the computer with the GRUB error doesn't have internet.

    Here are the results for the sudo fdisk -l

    Code:
    $ sudo fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xe0000000
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1               1           5       40131   de  Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2               6        1311    10485760    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3   *        1311       21063   158660608    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda4           21063       38914   143382528    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5           21063       38914   143381504    7  HPFS/NTFS
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 203.9 GB, 203928109056 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24792 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x30d3dd7e
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1               1       23391   187882496    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb2           23392       24792    11253532+   5  Extended
    /dev/sdb5           23392       24727    10731388+  83  Linux
    /dev/sdb6           24728       24792      522081   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Disk /dev/sdc: 8017 MB, 8017412096 bytes
    16 heads, 32 sectors/track, 30584 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 512 * 512 = 262144 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdc1               1       30584     7829488    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)

    Edit: Sorry WRDN, I misread what you asked and quoted you for the question of unutbu.
    I don't see a grub folder in the /boot/ directory.. here is the URL of the screenshot:
    http://abuakel.googlepages.com/Scree...ileBrowser.png
    Last edited by abuakel; June 30th, 2008 at 11:06 PM.
    The statement below is true.
    The statement above is false.


    my Ubuntu Screenshot

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    92
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: GRUB error

    sorry about the 'bump' again..
    but, *bump*
    The statement below is true.
    The statement above is false.


    my Ubuntu Screenshot

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GRUB error

    If you have booted from the live cd, you are going to have to mount the partition with your linux OS.

    Open a terminal and run these commands. Replace "sdaX" with the partition with you linux OS on it. If you don't know, post the results of "sudo fdisk -l" and someone can help you:

    Code:
    sudo mkdir /temp
    mount /dev/sdaX /temp
    cat /temp/boot/grub/menu.lst
    Last edited by drs305; July 1st, 2008 at 12:31 AM. Reason: changed "temp" to "/temp"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    92
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: GRUB error

    Quote Originally Posted by drs305 View Post
    If you have booted from the live cd, you are going to have to mount the partition with your linux OS.

    Open a terminal and run these commands. Replace "sdaX" with the partition with you linux OS on it. If you don't know, post the results of "sudo fdisk -l" and someone can help you:

    Code:
    sudo mkdir temp
    mount /dev/sdaX /temp
    cat /temp/boot/grub/menu.lst
    I did post my results for "sudo fdisk -l" it's on an earlier post..but here it is again:

    Code:
    $ sudo fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xe0000000
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1               1           5       40131   de  Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2               6        1311    10485760    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3   *        1311       21063   158660608    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda4           21063       38914   143382528    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5           21063       38914   143381504    7  HPFS/NTFS
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 203.9 GB, 203928109056 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24792 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x30d3dd7e
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1               1       23391   187882496    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb2           23392       24792    11253532+   5  Extended
    /dev/sdb5           23392       24727    10731388+  83  Linux
    /dev/sdb6           24728       24792      522081   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Disk /dev/sdc: 8017 MB, 8017412096 bytes
    16 heads, 32 sectors/track, 30584 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 512 * 512 = 262144 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdc1               1       30584     7829488    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    The statement below is true.
    The statement above is false.


    my Ubuntu Screenshot

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GRUB error

    It would appear the partition you want to mount to retrieve the /boot/grub/menu.lst resides on "sdb5" so that is the one you want to mount.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •