Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dual boot with vista. But vista broke?

Beans

Dual boot with vista. But vista broke?

Hi all!

First, im new with ubuntu. I decided to try it since I didn't like vistas slowness.

I really like this ubuntu. It looks good, is fast and has loads of software to play with.

After I had done lots of research and managed to make partition for ubuntu I installed it to this (actually yesterday). When booting I allways saw the window where it asks if you want to boot ubuntu or vista. Today I decided to go to vista to share my music to ubuntu also but when I tried to start vista I got error message something like: "Missing or corrupt file Windows/System32/Winload.exe" and it told me to insert vista dvd and using its fix system to fix things.

I inserted the cd. But my computer didn't react to it anyhow. I told bios to boot first from cd but it still went to the screen ubuntu or vista.

I'ts not end of the world if I lose vista but I'd like to keep it in case that linux doesn't have something it has.
    Couldn't anyone tell me what to do?

I need to either fix somehow that the "Winload.exe" doesn't work, or then getting my computer somehow to boot from my vista dvd.
    Maybe I installed ubuntu wrong. I read some stuff found from google but they didn't help me. Someone sayd something intresting though that this happens because vista tries to boot from wrong partition or something like that. Hope that helps you analyze my problem.

Beans

Re: Dual boot with vista. But vista broke?

Quote Originally Posted by Akingboy View Post
    Hi all!

First, im new with ubuntu. I decided to try it since I didn't like vistas slowness.

I really like this ubuntu. It looks good, is fast and has loads of software to play with.