Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vijayawada, INDIA
    Beans
    15
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

    I triple booted Ubuntu and vista after resizing the partitions in mac book and installing rEFIt
    the order of installation is mac os x(already installed) -> Vista ->Ubuntu ...as recommended
    In the boot menu of rEFit, i get all the 3 os options but for both vista and Ubuntu , grub gets started and grub menu comes.
    I want rEFIt to directly send me to vista or Ubuntu

    I figured out the structure, grub is taking away both vista and Ubuntu boot loaders. If i select vista in the rEFIt menu, the grub menu comes up to select visa or Ubuntu. If i select vista, it then gives the boot process to BCD.
    What i want is to direcly boot into the selected os (from rEFIt menu)without any interference.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    393

    Re: Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

    You need to install your bootloader (I use LILO) to the Linux root partition.
    Asus 1015px
    Macbook Pro 4.1

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Beans
    7,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

    yep see the multiboot link in my sig.

  4. #4

    Re: Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

    You'll have to look into deleting just the right partitions to remove grub from booting Windows AND Ubuntu. Then you'll have to install grub again. The easy way is to reinstall Ubuntu from scratch. Follow the instructions at this blog post. Just before the actual installation commences, click Advanced and specify that you want to install grub to (hda0,2) if the Linux HD is /dev/sda3, etc.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Beans
    7,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by mcandre View Post
    You'll have to look into deleting just the right partitions to remove grub from booting Windows AND Ubuntu. Then you'll have to install grub again. The easy way is to reinstall Ubuntu from scratch. Follow the instructions at this blog post. Just before the actual installation commences, click Advanced and specify that you want to install grub to (hda0,2) if the Linux HD is /dev/sda3, etc.
    you do not need to reinstall ubuntu, just grub.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vijayawada, INDIA
    Beans
    15
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by cyberdork33 View Post
    yep see the multiboot link in my sig.
    after going through your steps, 4 partitions show up in refit menu.
    1 mac os
    2 linux from hd
    3 windows on partition 3
    4 linux on partition 4

    when i select 2 ,tux is sitting at the middle of the bot screen. System doenn't boot.
    selecting 3 or 4 leads to grub menu

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    393

    Re: Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

    Why have you got 2 Linux partitions? - are you trying to setup a swap partition?

    I just create 3 partitions - one for each OS - then use a swap file. As long as I install the bootloader to the root, then the result is exactly as you are wanting...
    Asus 1015px
    Macbook Pro 4.1

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vijayawada, INDIA
    Beans
    15
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chrisj303 View Post
    Why have you got 2 Linux partitions? - are you trying to setup a swap partition?

    I just create 3 partitions - one for each OS - then use a swap file. As long as I install the bootloader to the root, then the result is exactly as you are wanting...
    I'm clear that there is no swap space at all in my installation.
    The 2 nd option is "boot linux from HD" which doesn't work.

    Only the fourth option that appeared after installing grub is working.

    i only want to know if there is any way to remove the option or just hide it atleast.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Beans
    7,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by harish_kd View Post
    I'm clear that there is no swap space at all in my installation.
    The 2 nd option is "boot linux from HD" which doesn't work.

    Only the fourth option that appeared after installing grub is working.

    i only want to know if there is any way to remove the option or just hide it atleast.
    Reinstalling the windows bootloader should clear it up. (i.e. FIXMBR). If not then, you must have accidently installed grub to some other partition as well.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vijayawada, INDIA
    Beans
    15
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Ubuntu and Vista rEFIt and grub issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by cyberdork33 View Post
    Reinstalling the windows bootloader should clear it up. (i.e. FIXMBR). If not then, you must have accidently installed grub to some other partition as well.
    Anyway, how to edit rEFIt menu,ie.,default, names etc..
    The only thing i found is the timeout in *.conf file in refit file

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •