Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Suspend Issues on a gazv3?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Beans
    485
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Suspend Issues on a gazv3?

    Code:
    swapon -a
    Produces no output.
    Code:
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    
    #
    
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    
    proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
    
    # /dev/mapper/AusIVPortable-root_1
    
    UUID=1a698c8c-8201-4f70-9e93-c8ce59288311 /               ext3    defaults,errors=remount-ro 0       1
    
    # /dev/sda1
    
    UUID=5c6ef2fa-4bac-4849-9616-e46fb84310f9 /boot           ext3    defaults        0       2
    
    # /dev/mapper/AusIVPortable-home
    
    UUID=749b565b-b5ec-4a82-876f-0559593ae566 /home           ext3    defaults        0       2
    
    # /dev/mapper/AusIVPortable-swap
    
    UUID=73a30d89-b521-4ee5-872a-e70c2f4e30e9 none            swap    sw              0       0
    
    /dev/scd0       /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec 0       0
    I encrypt my system, which is why root, home, and swap are in /dev/mapper.

    To be clear, hibernate works just fine. Suspending to RAM is where I have problems.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    52

    Re: Suspend Issues on a gazv3?

    Here is what I get:
    Quote Originally Posted by thomasaaron View Post
    OK, could you guys post the output of...

    swapon -a
    andy@hermes:~$ swapon -a
    andy@hermes:~$
    Quote Originally Posted by thomasaaron View Post
    and

    cat /etc/fstab
    andy@hermes:~$ cat /etc/fstab
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    # /dev/sda1
    UUID=2e6b3a31-9318-45e8-813e-c29352f7c915 / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /dev/sda5
    UUID=d63db41e-0419-405d-99f0-18001eb17c0d none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
    andy@hermes:~$

    Thanks for trying to help with this.

    Andy

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    52

    Re: Suspend Issues on a gazv3?

    Anyone solved this issue yet? I am still having trouble getting suspend and hibernate to work...

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Beans
    5,638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Suspend Issues on a gazv3?

    What version are you running now?
    And is it 32-bit or 64-bit?
    If 32-bit, have you tried 64-bit?
    To err is human, to forgive is very ... dog-like.

    Thomas Aaron
    FetchMasters, LLC

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    52

    Re: Suspend Issues on a gazv3?

    Running 8.10 64 bit.

    here are the outputs from "swapon -a, cat /etc/fstab/, and uname -a"
    Code:
    andy@hermes:~$ swapon -a
    andy@hermes:~$ 
    andy@hermes:~$ cat /etc/fstab
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
    # /dev/sda1
    UUID=2e6b3a31-9318-45e8-813e-c29352f7c915 /               ext3    relatime,errors=remount-ro 0       1
    # /dev/sda5
    UUID=d63db41e-0419-405d-99f0-18001eb17c0d none            swap    sw              0       0
    /dev/scd0       /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0       0
    andy@hermes:~$ uname -a
    Linux hermes 2.6.27-9-generic #1 SMP Thu Nov 20 22:15:32 UTC 2008 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    andy@hermes:~$
    Also here is my acpi-support file:
    #
    # Configuration file for the acpi-support package
    #
    #
    # The acpi-support package is intended as "glue" to make special functions of
    # laptops work. Specifically, it translates special function keys for some
    # laptop models into actions or generic function key presses.
    #


    #
    # Suspend/hibernate method
    # ------------------------
    #
    # When gnome-power-manager or klaptopdaemon are running, acpi-support will
    # translate the suspend and hibernate keys of laptops into special "suspend"
    # and "hibernate" keys that these daemons handle.
    #
    # Only in situations where there is no gnome-power-manager or klaptopdaemon
    # running, acpi-support needs to perform suspend/hibernate in some other way.
    # There are several options for this. The options are:
    #
    # dbus-pm:
    # Perform suspend and hibernate actions via a DBUS request to the power
    # management daemon. This works for power management daemons that we don't
    # know of. (For gnome-power-manager and klaptopdaemon this will do nothing,
    # since those will be detected when they are running, and triggered using
    # a virtual keypress.)
    #
    # dbus-hal:
    # Perform suspend and hibernate actions via a DBUS request directly to HAL,
    # bypassing any running power management daemons.
    #
    # pm-utils:
    # Use pm-suspend and pm-hibernate to suspend and hibernate. (The dbus method
    # normally results in this as well, but calls through dbus. Use this option
    # only if you don't have dbus installed.)
    #
    # hibernate:
    # Use the hibernate package to suspend and hibernate.
    #
    # acpi-support:
    # Use the legacy built-in suspend/hibernate support. (DEPRECATED)
    #
    # none:
    # Do not attempt to suspend/hibernate. Set SUSPEND_METHODS="none" to
    # disable suspend/hibernate handling in acpi-support.
    #
    # If you specify dbus or pm-utils, the result will normally be the same as when
    # you suspend from your desktop environment. If you specify "hibernate" or
    # "acpi-support", be aware that this probably does not match what your desktop
    # environment would do (unless you have managed to configure something so that
    # the DBUS power management interfaces call the hibernate package).
    #
    #
    # Please specify a space separated list of options. The recommended value is
    # "dbus pm-utils"
    #
    SUSPEND_METHODS="dbus-pm dbus-hal pm-utils"



    #
    # LEGACY BUILT IN SUSPEND SUPPORT (DEPRECATED)
    # --------------------------------------------
    #
    # These options only work for the "acpi-support" suspend method. This is NOT
    # recommended, but is retained for backward compatibility reasons.
    #

    # Comment the next line to disable ACPI suspend to RAM
    ACPI_SLEEP=true

    # Comment the next line to disable suspend to disk
    ACPI_HIBERNATE=true

    # Change the following to "standby" to use ACPI S1 sleep, rather than S3.
    # This will save less power, but may work on more machines
    ACPI_SLEEP_MODE=mem

    # Add modules to this list to have them removed before suspend and reloaded
    # on resume. An example would be MODULES="em8300 yenta_socket"
    #
    # Note that network cards and USB controllers will automatically be unloaded
    # unless they're listed in MODULES_WHITELIST
    MODULES=""

    # Add modules to this list to leave them in the kernel over suspend/resume
    MODULES_WHITELIST=""

    # Should we save and restore state using the VESA BIOS Extensions?
    SAVE_VBE_STATE=true

    # The file that we use to save the vbestate
    VBESTATE=/var/lib/acpi-support/vbestate

    # Should we attempt to warm-boot the video hardware on resume?
    POST_VIDEO=true

    # Save and restore video state?
    # SAVE_VIDEO_PCI_STATE=true

    # Should we switch the screen off with DPMS on suspend?
    USE_DPMS=true

    # Use Radeontool to switch the screen off? Seems to be needed on some machines
    # RADEON_LIGHT=true

    # Uncomment the next line to switch away from X and back again after resume.
    # This is needed for some hardware, but should be unnecessary on most.
    # DOUBLE_CONSOLE_SWITCH=true

    # Set the following to "platform" if you want to use ACPI to shut down
    # your machine on hibernation
    HIBERNATE_MODE=shutdown

    # Comment this out to disable screen locking on resume
    LOCK_SCREEN=true

    # Uncomment this line to have DMA disabled before suspend and reenabled
    # afterwards
    # DISABLE_DMA=true

    # Uncomment this line to attempt to reset the drive on resume. This seems
    # to be needed for some Sonys
    # RESET_DRIVE=true

    # Add services to this list to stop them before suspend and restart them in
    # the resume process.
    STOP_SERVICES=""

    # Restart Infra Red services on resume - off by default as it crashes some
    # machines
    RESTART_IRDA=false

    # Switch to laptop-mode on battery power - off by default as it causes odd
    # hangs on some machines. (Note: This is reported to cause breakage in
    # Debian - see deb bug #425800. Leaving enabled for Ubuntu for now
    # since presumably it's still valid here.)
    ENABLE_LAPTOP_MODE=false

    # Add to this list network interfaces that you don't want to be stopped
    # during suspend (in fact any network interface whose name starts with
    # a prefix given in this list is skipped)
    SKIP_INTERFACES="dummy qemu"

    # Note: to enable "laptop mode" (to spin down your hard drive for longer
    # periods of time), install the laptop-mode-tools package and configure
    # it in /etc/laptop-mode/laptop-mode.conf.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    52

    Re: Suspend Issues on a gazv3?

    Has anyone else made any progress on this issue?

    I have tried a few more things the I found in the Ubuntu forums:
    1. A fresh intrepid 64 bit install. - No luck
    2. Changed the video section of the xorg config file to look like this:
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    Driver "intel"
    to try and make sure the computer saw the intel driver.
    3. Fiddled with the settings in the acpi-suppport file changed these:
    SAVE_VBE_STATE=true
    POST_VIDEO=true
    ENABLE_LAPTOP_MODE=true
    ACPI_SLEEP_MODE=standby
    4. Added these lines to the /usr/lib/hal/scripts/linux/hal-system-power-suspend-linux file after this line "elif ! env | grep -q HAL_PROP_POWER_MANAGEMENT_QUIRK; then" per this forum thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...=suspend+quirk :
    HAL_PROP_POWER_MANAGEMENT_QUIRK_S3_BIOS=true
    HAL_PROP_POWER_MANAGEMENT_QUIRK_S3_MODE=true
    HAL_PROP_POWER_MANAGEMENT_QUIRK_DPMS_SUSPEND=true
    So far nothing seems to work. I still get the black screen of death after I try to resume from suspend. I will also post an update to this bug with what I have tried.

    on different note I know that this is an old problem and that most of the machines affected by it are probably no longer have the paid support that folks bought with the computer. Even still you guys at system76 seem to be spending your time on helping with this. How could those of us affected by this bug help out more? Pay for some of your time? With some direction maybe we could put a more systematic approach into debugging this (ie more of our time volunteered)? anyway just some thoughts. I hope we can all figure this out. I know I would like to have suspend.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •