Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Cannot mount volume.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    cleveland
    Beans
    107
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Cannot mount volume.

    I have an external hard drive I use to backup all my files. Well it used to work with ubuntu and sometimes still does. But for the past month I havent been able to get it to work. I can see it under computer as 'sense"(thats what I named it). But When I try to view the files it says cannot mount volume. I have tried hooking it up through SATA and USB and it still doesnt work. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    Please post the output of

    sudo lsusb
    AMD FX-6300, 4gig ddr3, MSI 970 Gaming, 1T SATA, GeForce GT710, Canon MB2320 all-in-one

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    cleveland
    Beans
    107
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bc7:0004 X10 Wireless Technology, Inc. X10 Receiver
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    562

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    The output from lsusb does not show your drive.

    When plugged into the usb port type
    dmesg

    are any new kernel messages generated?
    Also, I would suggest trying a dfferent USB port if you have one, and also
    try a known good USB cable (if you have a spare).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    cleveland
    Beans
    107
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    Quote Originally Posted by hal8000 View Post
    The output from lsusb does not show your drive.

    When plugged into the usb port type
    dmesg

    are any new kernel messages generated?
    Also, I would suggest trying a dfferent USB port if you have one, and also
    try a known good USB cable (if you have a spare).
    I didnt have it plugged in when I ran this.
    here it is with it plugged in the the USB.

    Bus 003 Device 003: ID 04fc:0c15 Sunplus Technology Co., Ltd
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bc7:0004 X10 Wireless Technology, Inc. X10 Receiver
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

    EDIT: I have tried it in all my USB ports

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    I cannot know the name of every peripheral, but looking at the Sunplus Technology co., ltd. website I don't see that they make external USB cradles, so if that is the name of your usb drive bay maker, let us know.

    Meanwhile, assuming that Sunplus is not the cradle/bay for the external harddrive, then the output shows the device isn't found and that may mean it isn't getting mounted or maybe something else is wrong. In any case, please let us know what devices are what. That is: what is the Sunplus device on your USB bus.
    AMD FX-6300, 4gig ddr3, MSI 970 Gaming, 1T SATA, GeForce GT710, Canon MB2320 all-in-one

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    cleveland
    Beans
    107
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark_in_Hollywood View Post
    I cannot know the name of every peripheral, but looking at the Sunplus Technology co., ltd. website I don't see that they make external USB cradles, so if that is the name of your usb drive bay maker, let us know.

    Meanwhile, assuming that Sunplus is not the cradle/bay for the external harddrive, then the output shows the device isn't found and that may mean it isn't getting mounted or maybe something else is wrong. In any case, please let us know what devices are what. That is: what is the Sunplus device on your USB bus.
    Yea thats the error im getting, it said unnable to mount volume. It has worked before, I dont understand why it isnt now.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    Your USB isn't being mounted, if I'm understanding the limited response above this post.

    Please check the usb device on a separate computer. Say Starbucks, or any internet cafe with usb ports available.

    If it works on another computer, you need to change some code in fstab, make a directory in /media, too, maybe.
    AMD FX-6300, 4gig ddr3, MSI 970 Gaming, 1T SATA, GeForce GT710, Canon MB2320 all-in-one

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    207
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    1st usb drives usually use /dev/sdb. what's the output of 'dmesg | grep sdb'

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    cleveland
    Beans
    107
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark_in_Hollywood View Post
    Your USB isn't being mounted, if I'm understanding the limited response above this post.

    Please check the usb device on a separate computer. Say Starbucks, or any internet cafe with usb ports available.

    If it works on another computer, you need to change some code in fstab, make a directory in /media, too, maybe.
    Yea it works on my windows partition and on my laptop with vista.

    ps. - starbucks = teh

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •