Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New Installation - System just keeps rebooting

Beans

Angry New Installation - System just keeps rebooting

Good morning I am totally new to ubuntu/linux and am havinga hard time just starting up my system. I was able to successfully install the new distribution from the alternat install cd. My system specs are as follows:

Soyo K8 USA Dragon Ultra MotherBoard
    AMD Athlon 64 3400+
    2GB RAM
    NVidia GEForce FX 5700 LE 256MB (AGP)
    Soundblaster Audigy 2 Sound Card (PCI)
    2 x 80 GB Seagate Barracuda HD
    CD-RW
    DVD-RW

I am not sure what could be the cause, this system setup is quite a few years old but the only thing that I can think of is a driver issue. Either the video card or the sound card. Sometimes the system will get all the way to the login screen and enter and then a few seconds later it will reboot. Other times it does not make it to the login screen. I had the same issue with this box when I orignally had Windows Vista Installed and found out that it was my video card and the NIC. I swapped those out for new ones and it worked fine. I also have another video card an ATI Radeon (not sure the model #) off hand. BUt have tried with this card to no avail. Any help would be appreciated.

Regards,
    Michael Reyeros

wpshooter is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: New Installation - System just keeps rebooting

First option: Check integrity of Ubuntu CD by running the verification function that is found on the initial Ubunut boot screen menu.

Second option: Try installation using safe graphics mode.

Third option: Download, burn and use ALTERNATE CD version (text based) of Ubuntu to perform the O/S installation.

Good luck.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by wpshooter View Post
    First option: Check integrity of Ubuntu CD by running the verification function that is found on the initial Ubunut boot screen menu.