Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to open files from terminal

Beans

How to open files from terminal

Hey, I am kinda new to linux and I am just starting to use the terminal for more things and I was wondering if there is a way to open files, such as pictures, videos, and music, from the terminal. I was wondering because in the cmd prompt in windows (which I also just started using) you can open a file by just typing in the name of that file. Thanks in advance for any help.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Re: How to open files from terminal

In the Gnome desktop you can use the command gnome-open for this, e.g.

Code:
    gnome-open mypicture.jpg
    The generic equivalent, which should work for all Linux desktops that work with freedesktop.org standards, is xdg-open.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Quote Originally Posted by mman426 View Post
    Hey, I am kinda new to linux and I am just starting to use the terminal for more things and I was wondering if there is a way to open files, such as pictures, videos, and music, from the terminal. I was wondering because in the cmd prompt in windows (which I also just started using) you can open a file by just typing in the name of that file. Thanks in advance for any help.
    Yes, almost everything. The GUI part is just that, a graphics layered interface.
    In fact sometimes it pays to start a program using the Terminal.

Case in point. It's fixed now, but Wine kept failing. I started it through the Terminal.
    For example:
    wine C:\\"Program Files"\\ImgBurn\\ImgBurn.exe

Will start ImgBurn using Wine and I can see any errors that may occur. Even though ImgBurn has its own log file that displays errors. Using the Terminal reveals more information that may be of value for trouble shooting.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by wdaniels View Post
    In the Gnome desktop you can use the command gnome-open for this, e.g.

Code:
    gnome-open mypicture.jpg