Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [SOLVED] intel q6700 @ 1.6ghz??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    173

    Question [SOLVED] intel q6700 @ 1.6ghz??

    hey, I just ran geekbench to benchmark my system, and it said that i was running at 1.6ghz on my new intel q6700 quad core that is supposed to run @ 2.6 ghz!! Any idea why?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Dakota
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: intel q6700 @ 1.6ghz??

    It is because the power saving features "Speedstepping" (also labeled as EIST) and "C1E" are enabled in the BIOS. Under load, the processor will *instantly* jump back up to 2.6GHz. If you want it to run 2.6GHz all the time, disable those features listed above.
    Asus P5K Premium | e3110 | 8gb G.Skill | 9800GTX | 5.35 TB
    CM 830 Evo Stacker | HX620W | 2x BenQ G2400W

    "I do not know what overkill means"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    173

    Re: intel q6700 @ 1.6ghz??

    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    It is because the power saving features "Speedstepping" (also labeled as EIST) and "C1E" are enabled in the BIOS. Under load, the processor will *instantly* jump back up to 2.6GHz. If you want it to run 2.6GHz all the time, disable those features listed above.
    thank you very much, i changed that and will check the benchmarks when I get home, but the other thing I noticed is that ubuntu's CPU scaling Monitor is going between 1.6 and 2.6 when the CPU is pinned (rendering if it makes a difference).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Beans
    4,928
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: intel q6700 @ 1.6ghz??

    Quote Originally Posted by ipburbank View Post
    hey, I just ran geekbench to benchmark my system, and it said that i was running at 1.6ghz on my new intel q6700 quad core that is supposed to run @ 2.6 ghz!! Any idea why?
    Yes, my Q6600 Core 2 Quad runs at 1.6GHz idle and jumps to 2.4 when needed.

    I also am wondering, I have overclocked my 2.4GHz to 3.0GHz and Ubuntu still reports the processor as 2.4GHz. I am guessing that Ubuntu is simply reading the processor ID and not actual frequency at all. How to I get accurate report of the CPU freq?
    Windows XP - Excellent computer virus detector.
    Windows Vista - Most bloat for the money.

    Visit my Ubuntu Resource Website http://www.stchman.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    173

    Re: intel q6700 @ 1.6ghz??

    so, um, ya... I turned off c1e and EIST, but my CPU frequency scaling monitor is still showing the CPU as not being at full function most of the time, even when the CPU is pinned it jumps between 3.5 and 2.10. Did i do it wrong? incase it matters i have an abit IP35Pro...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Dakota
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: intel q6700 @ 1.6ghz??

    Quote Originally Posted by ipburbank View Post
    so, um, ya... I turned off c1e and EIST, but my CPU frequency scaling monitor is still showing the CPU as not being at full function most of the time, even when the CPU is pinned it jumps between 3.5 and 2.10. Did i do it wrong? incase it matters i have an abit IP35Pro...
    Go to System<Administration<Services (in gnome) and disable "CPU Frequency manager".
    Asus P5K Premium | e3110 | 8gb G.Skill | 9800GTX | 5.35 TB
    CM 830 Evo Stacker | HX620W | 2x BenQ G2400W

    "I do not know what overkill means"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    173

    Re: intel q6700 @ 1.6ghz??

    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Go to System<Administration<Services (in gnome) and disable "CPU Frequency manager".
    that was it! thank you very much.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •