Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

    I'm running Ubuntu Hardy Heron. I'm using both Compiz-fusion and emerald as my window managers. I have both Screenlets and AWN Running at start up, and am using a four sides inside cube.

    Only problem is when I log in I'll have to wait up to 10 seconds for everything to be accessible, and by default it can be using up to 50% of my ram.

    When I run Macromedia Flash through Wine, and preview it lags and when I try to render clouds with photoshop it tells me there is not enough Ram. (It didn't happen before)

    At the same time I've grown really attached to all the eye candy and desktop effects, is there a way to use it all without using much Ram?

    Here is a screenshot of my Desktop.

    http://i27.tinypic.com/2hhhxg7.png

    I really want it looking as good as that, but still using significantly less ram.
    Last edited by LaRoza; June 7th, 2008 at 10:57 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

    Can Anyone help? Something that looks good but isn't Ram hungry is all I need...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

    Anyone?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    332

    Re: Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

    Using Compiz Fusion Icon you could switch to Metacity when using more CPU hungry programs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    98

    Re: Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

    Nice screenshot ... what font do you use ??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    159

    Smile Re: Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

    do one thing
    get rid of the screenlets u use for system monitering and if u need one use "conky" its not a screenlet but its pretty cool........ screenlets eat considerable memmory when there is a lot of them also check ur system moniter to see which program is eating up memory

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kerala,India
    Beans
    534
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

    you can try the buggy compositing mode of metacity. use "gconf-editor" and browse to apps>metacity>general>comp. mode

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

    Thanks, I deleted a few screenlets and it's much better only using up 35% ram at default even with emerald and the cube running. Funny thing is, the screenlets actually use a comparable amount of RAM as photoshop under wine. I still have a few of them though. AWN as well.

    I'm using Segoi UI, the Vista font.
    Runs better now and still looks really good.Could still be better I'll try Conky.

    Here's a newer screenshot.

    http://i27.tinypic.com/bgsqyc.jpg
    Last edited by LaRoza; June 7th, 2008 at 10:57 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

    Still takes a while to start up, I suppose that either Compiz-fusion, Emerald or the screenlets.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    14,781

    Re: Is it possible to have eye candy without using too much ram?

    Please use thumbnails or links and don't embed large images.

    imageshack.us makes thumbnails for you and gives you the code to use so you just have to copy and paste, very handy.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •