Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Question Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

    Ubuntu Hardy 64, Linksys WAP54g v3.1 w/DD-WRT firmware, connected to WRT54g v? with current linksys firmware.

    OK i am using a WAP54G downstairs with DD-WRT. It is set as client bridge for my networking purposes, the WRT54G upstairs has linksys firmware. anyway

    Everything was working fine up until this morning..

    my WAP is 192.168.1.2 with gateway as 192.168.1.1 (wrt) all the settings match up fine, im "connected" but Ubuntu Hardy no longer sees either router, or the internet.

    I rebooted into windows, and had the "limited or no connectivity" problem, so i manually set all my crap to whatever, and couldnt get to the net until i manually entered my DNS servers...

    It seems that the WRT is no longer leasing me an ip addy, because I have to manually set my local ip to 192.168.1.115 to get it to work in windows.

    Now this is the funny part.


    Ubuntu cannot see the internet at all.. however.. in virtual box (which is in ubuntu) my win 2000 install sees the internet just fine (with the manual configuration)

    Can anyone explain this??
    Last edited by Mgiacchetti; June 6th, 2008 at 02:45 AM.
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

    are you able to ping 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.2 from the ubuntu machine?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

    destination unreachable

    here's my ifconfig

    Code:
    br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:49  
              inet6 addr: xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:3390 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:438 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:822140 (802.8 KB)  TX bytes:42971 (41.9 KB)
    
    br0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:49  
              inet addr:169.254.34.36  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
    
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:49  
              inet addr:192.168.1.145  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:16492 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:11536 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:14178175 (13.5 MB)  TX bytes:1275661 (1.2 MB)
              Interrupt:21 Base address:0x4000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:2851 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:2851 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:184305 (179.9 KB)  TX bytes:184305 (179.9 KB)
    
    vbox0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:b8  
              inet6 addr: xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:9152 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:14588 errors:0 dropped:177 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:500 
              RX bytes:1047787 (1023.2 KB)  TX bytes:13897980 (13.2 MB)
    Last edited by Mgiacchetti; June 6th, 2008 at 01:30 AM.
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

    and heres when i try to ifup after ifdown for br0

    Code:
    sudo ifup br0
    There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.br0.pid with pid 0
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
    Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    Listening on LPF/br0/xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:49
    Sending on   LPF/br0/xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:49
    Sending on   Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on br0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
    DHCPDISCOVER on br0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
    DHCPDISCOVER on br0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
    DHCPDISCOVER on br0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    Last edited by Mgiacchetti; June 6th, 2008 at 01:28 AM.
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

    ok i figured it out, my bridge for virtualbox was preventing me to set static ip


    but I still wish to figure out this dhcp thing
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

    also, the two wireless laptops upstairs are working now (after a power cycle of the WRT54g linksys firmware)

    i tried power cycling my wap but to no avail, tried a factory reset, nothing.

    gonna try one more factory reset, then set it up again, then the magic button on the back if that dont work..
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

    ^bump^

    still having problems with the WRT54G handing my WAP54G (client bridge) a dhcp address for my machine... i don't really like having to set static...
    Last edited by Mgiacchetti; June 6th, 2008 at 01:32 AM.
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

    what does this mean? this was when i started having problems...

    Code:
    Jun  5 09:37:11 AMD-64 dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    Jun  5 09:37:15 AMD-64 dhclient: DHCPREQUEST of <null address> on br0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
    Jun  5 09:37:18 AMD-64 dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 14
    Jun  5 09:37:31 AMD-64 avahi-daemon[5143]: Withdrawing address record for 192.168.1.105 on br0.
    Jun  5 09:37:31 AMD-64 avahi-daemon[5143]: Leaving mDNS multicast group on interface br0.IPv4 with address 192.168.1.105.
    Jun  5 09:37:31 AMD-64 avahi-daemon[5143]: Interface br0.IPv4 no longer relevant for mDNS.
    Jun  5 09:37:32 AMD-64 dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
    Jun  5 09:37:32 AMD-64 dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on br0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    Jun  5 09:37:40 AMD-64 dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on br0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
    Jun  5 09:37:42 AMD-64 dhclient: No DHCPOFFERS received.
    and this is route -n
    Code:
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 br0
    169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U     0      0        0 eth0
    169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U     1000   0        0 br0
    0.0.0.0         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    100    0        0 br0
    0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         U     1000   0        0 eth0
    Last edited by Mgiacchetti; June 6th, 2008 at 02:22 AM.
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

    and it seems when i bring br0 and eth0 down and bring eth0 up, i get the same prob

    br0 is set static, eth0 is dchp

    im confused...
    Last edited by Mgiacchetti; June 6th, 2008 at 02:45 AM.
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Alabama,USA
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Lost ubuntu connection? windows works (with manual config)

    I am having the same issues at work. I cna't figure out why DHCPDISCOVER is using subnet 255.255.255.255 our network is 255.255.255.0.
    Alabama LoCo

    Don't just use Linux, Learn Linux please refer to Proper Documentation. http://wiki.ubuntu.com http://doc.gwos.org http://ubuntuguide.org

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •