Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Howto: Make Firefox handle aim:goim links properly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mass
    Beans
    182

    Howto: Make Firefox handle aim:goim links properly

    Now you can make Firefox and Gaim handle the little IM links properly ( i.e. href=Aim:goim?screenname=whateversclever).

    1.) open Gaim's buddy list and open: tools > preferences

    2.) on left pane, click "plugins". in main pane, find "remote control" and make sure it is enabled

    3.) in a new firefox tab (ctrl + t) in the address bar, type about:config

    4.) right click and choose "new" > "string"

    5.) in the first box add the following value
    Code:
    network.protocol-handler.external.xmpp
    6.) in the second box add the following value
    Code:
    true
    7.) right click again and make another "string"

    8.) in the first box add the following value
    Code:
    network.protocol-handler.app.xmpp
    9.) in the second box add the following value
    Code:
    /usr/bin/gaim
    10.) test it out here: Send a message to ming0

    11.) when the "external protocol" box pops up, check the "remember this choice" box and click "launch application"

    12.) yippe! it worked! (IM me if it didn't)
    Last edited by ming0; October 26th, 2005 at 04:54 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    431

    Re: Howto: Make Firefox handle aim:goim links properly

    It worked! W00t!

    I only have one correction: when you right click, you need to select "New" then "String".



    I installed the extension, and AIM link still open in a new tab
    Last edited by majikstreet; October 25th, 2005 at 08:50 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mass
    Beans
    182

    Re: Howto: Make Firefox handle aim:goim links properly

    Quote Originally Posted by majikstreet
    I installed the extension, and AIM link still open in a new tab
    you know, now that I reset, I'm getting an extra tab too

    Edit: I figured it out--first I was clicking on my extra link and then I tried the one on my profile <---- That one doesn't spawn an extra window...

    BTW, thanks for the correction
    Last edited by ming0; October 26th, 2005 at 04:55 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Howto: Make Firefox handle aim:goim links properly

    Does Gaim have to be running?

    Mike
    Mike: "The hardest questions in life are the ones worth answering"
    E-Mail | Blog | Gmail | technoviking on irc.freenode.net, identi.ca , and Twitter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Beans
    494
    Distro
    Kubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: Howto: Make Firefox handle aim:goim links properly

    Just tested it - yeah, Gaim has to be running and logged on.

    Still, this is useful.
    What's wrong with closed and open source co-exisiting?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    431

    Re: Howto: Make Firefox handle aim:goim links properly

    Quote Originally Posted by ming0
    you know, now that I reset, I'm getting an extra tab too

    Edit: I figured it out--first I was clicking on my extra link and then I tried the one on my profile <---- That one doesn't spawn an extra window...

    BTW, thanks for the correction
    No problem.... But, I wish it didn't open a new tab....

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •