Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: need help installing Flock Eco-Edition

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

need help installing Flock Eco-Edition

the bad thing is that it doesn't come in a deb file.
    it comes in tar.gz and i'm not good with installing those
    i found a guide to installing Flock [tar.gz] but it doesn't work with this Eco Edition
    plz help

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Re: need help installing Flock Eco-Edition

you probably should post the errors you get when you try to install it- it ought to be fairly straightforward but may be running into a number of problems, so we need to work out which one(s).

Beans
    Distro

i don't know how to install it..

Beans

It is usually something like: How to Install Source Files in Ubuntu

I haven't looked at the package you are trying to install and sometimes dependencies are a bit tough to track down.
    If you think you're free, there's no escape possible. Ram Dass

Beans

Actually I was wrong I think as this is not a source file package.

I just downloaded the file flock_afcC72FB3ACF09E-1.2.1.en-US.linux-i686.tar.gz which is I believe the file you are trying to install and no installation is needed. you just have to extract the folder flock somewhere and run the file flock, the bins are included. And btw it is pretty cool I just run it

Beans
    Distro

okay cool, but how do i make a thing for it in my main menu?
    i tried to install it, but nothing would work
    every command i put in to install i got this :
    Code:
    make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Where did you save and extract the file?

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by T2manner View Post
    okay cool, but how do i make a thing for it in my main menu?
    i tried to install it, but nothing would work
    every command i put in to install i got this :
    Code:
    make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.