Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 71

Thread: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    48

    Re: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

    This is my output. Any ideas?

    Code:
    ryan@ubuntu:~$ cat /proc/acpi/wakeup
    Device	S-state	  Status   Sysfs node
    PCI0	  S4	 disabled  no-bus:pci0000:00
    PCI1	  S4	 disabled  pci:0000:00:01.0
    PCI2	  S4	 disabled  pci:0000:00:1e.0
    USB0	  S4	 disabled  pci:0000:00:1f.2
    USB1	  S4	 disabled  pci:0000:00:1f.4
    AC97	  S4	 disabled  
    ryan@ubuntu:~$ lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82815 815 Chipset Host Bridge and Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82815 815 Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 02)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801BA IDE U100 Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM SMBus Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.4 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 02)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV5 [RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro] (rev 11)
    02:09.0 Ethernet controller: ADMtek NC100 Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet 10/100 (rev 11)

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Beans
    29
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

    Hi there vashwood,

    I'd agree, it looks like your ADMtek NIC does not have a corresponding entry in /proc/acpi/wakeup. Is it a seperate card, or is it a built-in NIC? If its a seperate card, then maybe you have to use a WOL lead to connect the card to the motherboard (as shown at the top of this page: http://www.andrewmallett.net/tech/ne...ake_on_lan.htm -- ignore the rest of it, only the pictures are of interest). If it's a built-in NIC, then I can only guess that you might need to set up the BIOS to enable the NIC to wakeup the machine.

    Other than those suggestions, there's not much more I can say. I only found out about the lspci command a few days ago, and the /proc/acpi/wakeup a few days before that!

    Hope that helps,

    Jon

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    48

    Re: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

    Thanks. It's a separate PCI card and I have a cable that directly hooks it up to the Motherboard. I'm just not sure if I should be enabling anything in /proc/acpi/wakeup

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    48

    Re: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

    I got it to work!!! I guess I just needed to try it. I just enabled one of the PCI devices and it seems like it enables them all. And now I can wake up from suspend s3.

    One last question. How do I get it to run that command on boot? I was thinking of adding this to one of the init scripts but I'm not sure which one.

    Code:
     grep 'PCI0.*enabled' < /proc/acpi/wakeup >/dev/null || \
        echo PCI0  > /proc/acpi/wakeup

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    $here ? $here : $there
    Beans
    3,717
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

    You may only have to add it to /etc/rc.local. If that only works over a single suspend/resume cycle then you'd probably also have to create a script with that command in /etc/pm/sleep.d
    Don't try to make something "fast" until you are able to quantify "slow".

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    35

    Re: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

    Quote Originally Posted by NZJon View Post
    Yep, it certainly is good when you make a discovery like this!

    I thought I had everything fixed, but it looks as though a suspend-and-wakeup cycle only works once for me. If I suspend the machine after it has already been suspended-and-woken-up, it fails to wake up. Sigh. I think I saw something like this in the forums a while ago, so I shall have to search out that solution now...

    Hey, think how many people you can make happy by saying you've found a (potential) fix for their resume-on-lid problems!!

    Cheers,

    Jon
    sounds like the same problem i have. I can suspend and resume okay once (system is a little unstable) but the second time i try to resume, i get a locked up system (no caps lock toggle).
    Code:
    Device	S-state	  Status   Sysfs node
    SLPB	  S4	*enabled   
    P32	  S4	 disabled  pci:0000:00:1e.0
    EXP1	  S4	 disabled  pci:0000:00:1c.0
    EXP2	  S4	 disabled  
    EXP3	  S4	 disabled  
    EXP4	  S4	 disabled  
    EXP5	  S4	 disabled  
    EXP6	  S4	 disabled
    Apparently, there is supposed to be a LID device???

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    16

    Re: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

    I found that the trick to resume on your events working after the 1st time is to add them to the Suspend script.
    Read up on the pm-utils package in hardy...
    I created a custom-script in /etc/pm/sleep.d, which I named 15enablewol
    #!/bin/bash

    . /usr/lib/pm-utils/functions

    case "$1" in
    hibernate|suspend)
    ethtool -s eth0 wol g
    ;;
    thaw|resume)
    ;;
    *)
    ;;
    esac

    exit
    Now, every time time machine executes all the sleep scripts, it also sets the WOL properly.
    (Be sure to chmod +x that script)
    Good Luck!
    Last edited by himikeb; June 16th, 2008 at 06:58 AM. Reason: clarify need to make script executable

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    35

    Re: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

    can anyone confirm this works? (not that I don't trust it, it's just that I am a linux noob so I and wouldn't know how to fix a destroyed computer)

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    $here ? $here : $there
    Beans
    3,717
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

    Quote Originally Posted by i speak in math View Post
    can anyone confirm this works? (not that I don't trust it, it's just that I am a linux noob so I and wouldn't know how to fix a destroyed computer)
    It looks perfectly safe to me.
    Don't try to make something "fast" until you are able to quantify "slow".

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    35

    Re: Understanding /proc/acpi/wakeup

    is that ethZERO or ethOH in there?

    This would be my first script (except for following the ndiswrapper directions)

    Is it okay to create the a blank file in the sleep.d folder and edit it in the text editor. Then chmod -x it in the terminal? And how would I do that?

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •