Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 67

Thread: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    7

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

    I tried most of these, and got them to successfully put my desktop on hibernate, but then it IMMEDIATELY wakes up, i.e. ram writes to disk, computer powers down, a second goes by, then computer powers up and restores to the original state.

    Using ubuntu 9.10 amd64, still trying some other methods, but I haven't found any other posts with this problem... any ideas?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    USA - Pennsylvania
    Beans
    134
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

    Hey spiffman, I have the same problem and as yet, no solution. Just wanted u to know you're not alone with this issue. If you find anything that works, let me know.

    eipapp

  3. #33
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

    Don't know why this works if the problem is the nvidia driver, but I found this solution to the one-time-only suspend/hibernate:

    I have recently started having trouble keeping the thing asleep (ie it wakes up immediately after suspending). This seems to have solved it (on both Asrock and Zotac setup). If you are using legacy GRUB, add

    Code:
    usbcore.autosuspend=-1

    to the end of the kernel line in /boot/grub/menu.lst. If you are using GRUB2, then it is a tad more complicated. You need to add it to the option GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT in /etc/default/grub, ie

    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash usbcore.autosuspend=-1"

    and update GRUB:

    Code:
    $ sudo update-grub
    Now it seems to work for me. I get a white screen upon restore, but I hit enter and I get the lock/login screen.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Beans
    492
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

    Quote Originally Posted by aoakley View Post
    To suspend-to-RAM (aka sleep):
    Code:
    pmi action suspend
    To suspend-to-disk (aka hibernate):
    Code:
    pmi action hibernate
    On my Ubuntu Karmic (v9.10) system, I don't find pmi anything.

    A search using Synaptic found an Intelligent Open Platform Management Interface (openipmi) . Is this what I need to install?

    Before I use SLEEP or HIBERNATE is there other configuration that I need? For example, does hibernate require a swap file or can I designate some other place to store that context? (I have 4GB ram that never swaps anything so I did not configure swap space.)

    ~~~ 0;-Dan
    "All government spending, regardless of the motives, uses YOUR money."

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

    SaintDanBert: I installed the package "powermanagement-interface" which contains pmi and works very well.

  6. #36
    Rebelli0us is offline Extra Foam Sugar Free Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    722

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

    Back in November, I was able to fix the NO prompt for password on Resume, on one pc. Now I need to do it for another machine, but I can't remember how I did it?! I checked the config editor and Suspend is checked... so I'm stumped again.

    The script/command posted above in this thread works fine to suspend S3, BUT I get NO prompt for password on Resume, which is a serious problem.

  7. #37
    Rebelli0us is offline Extra Foam Sugar Free Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    722

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

    This command works in terminal:

    gnome-screensaver-command --lock ; pmi action suspend

    but not in "keyboard shortcuts". The delimiter ; probably doesn't work. Is it possible to run 2 commands in "keyboard shortcuts"?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

    Here is an easy and quick way to do suspend ubuntu from command line. (Tested with Ubuntu 10.04). It took me a while to figure it out:

    http://www.establishfacts.com/how-to...omcommand-line

    Enjoy!

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    548

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

    Thx for all of this good information.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    14

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo sleep / standby / hibernate / suspend from command line

    Ok I've been looking into this for a while. I see people installing various packages for suspending/hibernating. What I don't understand is that why can Gnome suspend if I don't already have those packages installed? This leads me to believe that I should be able to suspend Ubuntu without having to install these extra packages, since Gnome can do it.

    I'm guessing the interface to suspend the OS is programmatic. In other words, I can only suspend from calling into some lib, not from command line. Is that true?

    I'd like to look at the source of the power menu in ubuntu, but I have no idea what package that's in. Any pointers?

    Also, are those packages recommended in this thread programs that call into the aforementioned programmatic interface (like 'pmi')?

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •