Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about my abilities... ??

Beans

Red face Question about my abilities... ??

Hi, and thanks for stopping by. I'm not sure if i'm at the rigth place but well you will decide. First of all, sorry for my english I'll do my best.

I'm currently a university (first year) programming student. I already have a programming diploma from college. The fact is I learned a lot of things (C, C++, Java, SQL, Python, Assembly) but not in depth. I know a bit of everything but I'm no expert in any of those. That scares me a lot. I'm working full time, going to school after work, that leaves me not much time to practice on my own. I kinda build my experience on my school work wich I think is not enough.

Anyway, after explaining my situation, I wanna know if there's any chance to become a good programmer if I'm not 24/7 coding ??
    How much "time" does it take to become good in one language ??
    Can a programmer be good at web development, GUI design, application developpment at the same time ??

Thanks a lot... I'm kinda scared about my future rigth now

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Re: Question about my abilities... ??

Hey Nethan,

Sure youre in the right place, everybody in here complains about not having enough time

Secondly, time comes and time goes. Your major concern seems to be "Can I become good enough, can I improve?" and when you're asking those kinds of questions then I would say you could absolutely become a good programmer - all it takes is a little bit of brains and a lot of motivation. And even if you don't have brains, there's still VB

Its possible to master all the skills you mentioned at the same time, but with your busy schedule, I'd line up your top 3 priorities and then accomplish them 1 by 1.