Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Windows Domain Login

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    7

    Question Windows Domain Login

    Hi,

    Unfortunately the company I work for is about to require all staff to log in to their computers using Windows Domain Login verification. Is there anyway of getting KDE to check the login credentials with a Windows Domain Server and deal with password resets and the like because without it, it looks like I will be forced to use Windows to access the company network

    I am running Hardy with KDE with XP available via VMware - It is a great way to work, but only if I can login to the company network.

    Regards


    Tim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Windows Domain Login

    Hello,
    I have similar problem. But I'm using Ubuntu for everyday work and Windows only to reset password. If someone know how to do that from Ubuntu it'll be great to share with us!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Windows Domain Login

    Quote Originally Posted by SpreadFirefox View Post
    Hello,
    I have similar problem. But I'm using Ubuntu for everyday work and Windows only to reset password. If someone know how to do that from Ubuntu it'll be great to share with us!
    The universe repository is enabled by default, so here’s all you have to do:

    1. sudo apt-get install likewise-open
    2. sudo domainjoin-cli join yourdomain.com yourADusername
    3. sudo update-rc.d likewise-open defaults
    4. sudo /etc/init.d/likewise-open start

    Step one will prompt your for some info about your AD environment. After executing number two above, you’ll be prompted for your AD password for the user provided. Once this is done, you login by entering YOURDOMAIN\youruser at the login prompt.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Windows Domain Login

    May be there are some restrictions because this is what I have:
    Error: Unable to join domain [code 0x0008000e]

    Domain join operation failed to create the computer account in Active Directory. Common causes are a bad administrator password, a bad OU
    name, or an existing computer account without modification permissions.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Windows Domain Login

    You have to have Domain Admin rights to join your ubuntu to ad.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Windows Domain Login

    Works great! Thank you again!
    Last edited by SpreadFirefox; November 25th, 2008 at 04:04 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Windows Domain Login

    Sorry
    It seems that I can not change my domain password. Is there a way to do that?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NC
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Windows Domain Login

    I hate to tag on to this but I'm haveing a problem like this one I get this error when I trying to join the domain at my work to access the database off my laptop I can join it fine with XP Pro on the other part-ion
    anyway this is what it is telling me
    Code:
    Error: Module not configured [code 0x00080042]
    
    Even though the configuration of 'hostname' was executed, the configuration is
    not complete. Please contact Likewise support.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Windows Domain Login

    I think you are not part of the domain. Are you?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Beans
    108
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Windows Domain Login

    Quote Originally Posted by ComputerHermit View Post
    I hate to tag on to this but I'm haveing a problem like this one I get this error when I trying to join the domain at my work to access the database off my laptop I can join it fine with XP Pro on the other part-ion
    anyway this is what it is telling me
    Code:
    Error: Module not configured [code 0x00080042]
    
    Even though the configuration of 'hostname' was executed, the configuration is
    not complete. Please contact Likewise support.
    I know this is an oldish post, but I fixed this by adding --ou with the relevant organizational unit to the join command and it worked...

    Code:
    sudo domainjoin-cli join --ou OUName yourdomain.com yourADusername

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •