Thread: Can Samba on Gutsy LAMP disrupt windows workgroups?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Question Can Samba on Gutsy LAMP disrupt windows workgroups?

This has happened to me enough times over the past few years to finally ask about it. My networking between my laptop and my Main winblows desktop has been fine for the last several weeks until I started playing around with samba on my Gutsy Server (LAMP). Now either machine cannot access the workgroup, although they can see it. Even after reboots on both machines.

I'm in NO WAY blaming Linux, or Ubuntu. I'm sure it's something Winblows can't handle that is causing the issue. I just wanted to know if it is possible that Samba is trashing it for my Winblows machines. That would help me to rule out something with those boxes. They are both different flavors of Winblows also. Main is XP Pro, and Laptop is XP Media Edition.

I wasn't going to ask for it here, but I'm at my wits end. It's Samba that is killing me right now. I have Gutsy Server installed (nvidia issues on Hardy), LAMP configured, Webmin installed and Samba, and the Gnome desktop with 3d acceleration. I LOVE IT.

Anyway, all this was working on my Feisty, and I could map network drives (shares) just fine on both Winblows machines. The install was my first Ubuntu though, and when I moved it over to new hardware, the errors were too many to work. It was time for a fresh install.

Now I can't get back my shares access ability for the life of me. I've searched for two days now, tried everything google searches had to offer. I should have taken notes! I'm so paranoid of missing something again, I've written down what I've done so far AND populating a LAN-BASED Wiki.

Doesn't help me remember what I did to get Samba to work for me back a year ago though.