Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 74

Thread: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    30

    Re: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

    Unfortunately there appears to be no change with that module.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    30

    Re: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

    I have managed to resolve this issue.

    For anyone else who has the problem, the key seems to be to add the following to your xorg.conf

    Code:
    Section "Device"
      Identifier "Trident Microsystems CyberBlade XPAi1"
      Driver "trident"
      BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
      Identifier "Generic Monitor"
      Option "DPMS"
      HorizSync 28-51
      VertRefresh 43-60
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Monitor		"Generic Monitor"
    	Device		"Trident Microsystems CyberBlade XPAi1"
    	SubSection "Display"
    		   Depth 8
    		   Modes "1024x768"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		   Depth 16
    		   Modes "1024x768"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		   Depth 24
    		   Modes "1024x768"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		   Depth 32
    		   Modes "1024x768"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    This I established through trial and error, so there may be a more efficient way to do the same thing

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    7

    Re: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

    Quote Originally Posted by MonkeyPlus View Post
    I've put Xubuntu on an old Toshiba Satellite but cannot seem to increase the screen resolution past 800x600 which is very annoying as it means I can only use a very small box in the middle of an already small screen.

    I've tried specifying a higher resolution in /etc/X11/xorg.conf but with no success. Can anybody help?
    Hi there,

    Just try : sudo displayconfig-gtk. You should have the chance to change the monitor, select 1024x768 and then change the resolution as well. It works for me so it should work for you too.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    12

    Wink Re: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

    I had a similar problem on a Tosh Laptop. In my case I think it was a new install of Ubuntu Hardy which caused the problem (an upgraded Hardy Kubuntu from Gutsy worked just fine). However, when I compared the xorg.conf files from the working and non-working installs it became obvious that there was a significant difference, so I copied the working xorg.conf file to the not-workling install and hey presto - no more problems.

    Anyway, the answer was basically the same as stated above, albeit I got there by a slightly different route.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

    I success!
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Configured Monitor"
          Option      "DPMS"  "true"
          HorizSync    30.0-60.0
          VertRefresh  50.0-70.0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Monitor		"Configured Monitor"
    	Device		"Configured Video Device"
          DefaultDepth      24
          SubSection "Display"
                      Depth         24
                      Modes         "1024x768" "800x600"
          EndSubSection
          
    EndSection

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Deutschland
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

    Quote Originally Posted by MonkeyPlus View Post
    I have managed to resolve this issue.

    For anyone else who has the problem, the key seems to be to add the following to your xorg.conf

    Code:
    Section "Device"
      Identifier "Trident Microsystems CyberBlade XPAi1"
      Driver "trident"
      BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
      Identifier "Generic Monitor"
      Option "DPMS"
      HorizSync 28-51
      VertRefresh 43-60
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Monitor		"Generic Monitor"
    	Device		"Trident Microsystems CyberBlade XPAi1"
    	SubSection "Display"
    		   Depth 8
    		   Modes "1024x768"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		   Depth 16
    		   Modes "1024x768"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		   Depth 24
    		   Modes "1024x768"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		   Depth 32
    		   Modes "1024x768"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    This I established through trial and error, so there may be a more efficient way to do the same thing
    I am having this issue with a Toshiba Satellite 1800 (from Europe, the laptop has the exact same video card). I have tried the solution listed here:
    Thread 4772671, but gksudo (or sudo) displayconfig-gtk does absolutely nothing.

    And I have added the above lines to my xorg.conf
    After adding the above into xorg.conf, I get the following error on boot:
    "Ubuntu is running in Low-Graphics Mode
    (EE) Problem parsing the config file
    (EE) Error parsing the config file"

    Here is the relevant portion of 'lspci':
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Trident Microsystems CyberBlade XPAi1 (rev 82)
    and here is my xorg.conf:
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Trident Microsystems CyberBlade XPAi1"
    Driver "trident"
    BusID "PCI:1:00.0"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Generic Monitor"
    Option "DPMS"
    HorizSync 28-51
    VertRefresh 43-60
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Monitor "Generic Monitor"
    Device "Trident Microsystems CyberBlade XPAi1"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Any suggestions for a noob?
    Thanks!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Les Gets, France
    Beans
    752
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

    Hi

    Fryman24, your xorg.conf file is fine but I bet that when you cut and pasted it from the earlier post,you forgot to add a carriage return at then end after "Endsection". This would cause the error you report!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

    hi i,m having the same problem with my toshiba satelite pro 6050 when i coppied your command into a terminal it came up endsection command not found,any idea's would be greatly appreciated as i'm a complete newbee and i've never used terminal before

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Les Gets, France
    Beans
    752
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

    Hi Albython

    I think you are a bit confused! The "code" which ends with "EndSection" and a carriage return, has to be pasted into the system file /etc/X11/xorg.conf Not into a terminal. To do this it is necessary to use a text editor with administrator rights:

    In terminal enter:

    gksudo mousepad /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    (use gedit instead of mousepad in Ubuntu)

    Then enter your password. You should get a text editor with full editing rights - BE CAREFUL! The "code" from fryman24's post above should be pasted into the xorg.conf file (this may be the only thing there if you are using 8.10 Intrepid ) Save the file and reboot.

    Hope that makes it clearer!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Les Gets, France
    Beans
    752
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Display problem with Trident Cyberblade Ai1

    Hi Albython

    I think you are a bit confused! The "code" which ends with "EndSection" and a carriage return, has to be pasted into the system file /etc/X11/xorg.conf Not into a terminal. To do this it is necessary to use a text editor with administrator rights:

    In terminal enter:

    gksudo mousepad /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    (use gedit instead of mousepad in Ubuntu)

    Then enter your password. You should get a text editor with full editing rights - BE CAREFUL! The "code" from fryman24's post above should be pasted into the xorg.conf file (this may be the only thing there if you are using 8.10 Intrepid ) Save the file and reboot.

    Hope that makes it clearer!

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •