Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Replace Nautilus

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Replace Nautilus

Hi all,

I have been using Linux for the past 5 months and so far I am loving it. I got a bit bored of the K GUI so I switched to Gnome.

Gnome e is good but... I just hate Nautilus, which IMHO have the look of 90's applications. I just cant stand it.

I know that there are quite a few alternatives like Dolphin, Thunar, etc. However, what I really wanted is to replace Nautilus as the CORE file manager in Gnome. Is this possile?

Thank you

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: Replace Nautilus

Quote Originally Posted by Kaisersoze View Post
    Hi all,

I have been using Linux for the past 5 months and so far I am loving it. I got a bit bored of the K GUI so I switched to Gnome.

Gnome e is good but... I just hate Nautilus, which IMHO have the look of 90's applications. I just cant stand it.

I know that there are quite a few alternatives like Dolphin, Thunar, etc. However, what I really wanted is to replace Nautilus as the CORE file manager in Gnome. Is this possile?

Thank you
    What's there to hate about Nautilus? It's just the same as Thunar or Dolphin, it just doesn't have that many bells as Dolphin does...

It's possible to set Thunar to take over your desktop.
    See scripts here:
    http://psychocats.net/ubuntu/nonautilusplease

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

what we need is a file manager that lets you see the folder sizes and the complete number of files in all subdirectories, not just the files and directories. Its a nightmare when you have to transfer over gigabytes of information to try and discover what still needs to be copied and what doesn't and then confirm that its all been copied over.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu