Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 36 of 36

Thread: Need help with Grub Error

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Need help with Grub Error

    Quote Originally Posted by jobyjoe View Post
    Ok I found something in BIOS that could/could not be wrong (I really don't know too much about BIOS). But when I go to my Standard CMOS features tab, it says IDE Primary Master is my DVD burner and my IDE Primary Slave is my other DVD burner. My first hard drive is actually the IDE Third Master and my other hard drive is the IDE Fourth Master.

    Maybe I'm wrong, but shouldn't the HD be in the IDE primary master spot. And if so how do you change it?
    I've read the entire post and I'm a little confused. Are you the one with the laptop or desktop? If desktop how did the BIOS get the drives swapped around? Did you change something? Without being in front of your computer I have no idea as how to make the changes, but you need to get the HD on the Primary and the DVD on the secdonary or slave. Can you do that?

    Also, I think it was asked several pages ago to output the 'fdisk -l' and 'cat /boot/grub/menu.lst' commands from a terminal. Can you do that?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    29

    Re: Need help with Grub Error

    Yeah I'm the one with the desktop. Yeah I have no Idea how the drives got switched. My computer worked fine till I upgraded to ubuntu 8.04. I have no idea how to switch the drives. They are both SATA, does that matter? I'll try to get the command lines, but whenever I try and use the Ubuntu Live CD, it freezes when it starts loading. I'll keep trying though.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    29

    Re: Need help with Grub Error

    ok here you go:

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sdb: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x0004c47b

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 15837 127210671 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb2 15838 38160 179309497+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb3 38161 38913 6048472+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sdb5 38161 38913 6048441 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Need help with Grub Error

    Quote Originally Posted by jobyjoe View Post
    ok here you go:

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sdb: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x0004c47b

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 15837 127210671 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb2 15838 38160 179309497+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb3 38161 38913 6048472+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sdb5 38161 38913 6048441 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$
    Okay thanks. Now usually they would be /dev/sdax, but maybe your BIOS switch causes them to appear as /dev/sdbx.
    Right now I can't go back to first page to check, but the 320GB HD is that IDE?

    The SATA shouldn't matter. Is their any option to put the BIOS back to default or is there an AUTO detect option for the drives?
    You mentioned the your BIOS stated the drive were IDE. Now your telling me you have SATA installed.

    At any rate can you boot your Windows system with this setup?
    Yoou could use the grub message:

    grub-install /dev/sdb
    =OR=
    grub
    find /boot/grub/stage1
    root (sdb0,0) <==this is from above ouput. your will be different
    setup (sd0) <==same as above output
    quit


    The problem with the above commands is you have to have a Linux running to use it. You need to be able to boot from the livecd in order to fix the grub or reinstall grub. Do you have another minicd like Puppy Linux or Knoppix?

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    france 44290 and England
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: Need help with Grub Error

    CDtech - latest update! Installed Win98 on the would-be Linux PC. It installed no problem at all and boots from the HD no prob! Apparently it is/was the Gutsy install that wrecked it! Question now is how to proceed; would you think an Ubuntu install on a new partition is the way to go? Thanks Jeff

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ~/PA/USA
    Beans
    1,980
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Need help with Grub Error

    Yes, and during your new install be sure that the GRUB bootloader code is installed to the proper MBR of that primary drive.

    Good luck.....

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •