Thread: [SOLVED] Strange upgrade problems Ubuntu 8.04 (repost from installation forum)

Beans

[SOLVED] Strange upgrade problems Ubuntu 8.04 (repost from installation forum)

Hi list,

after a seemingly flawless upgrade i'm stuck with some strange problems. I'm a perpetual newbie so i don't know if my problems with the ubuntu installation are upgrade related, security related or otherwise?

My machine starts automatically in the middle of the night, every night, when i've switched it off. Where can i start to address this problem? When i switch it off i want it to remain switched off until i start it up. Where can i find a way to force it to remain switched off?

When i log in and log out the screen goes black, blank and i can't log in, apart from another box with ssh (or via nx). I can see the Xorg (xserver?) is running at nearly all CPU capacity. Only thing i can do is hard reset the machine. Reading the forums i can't find a solution that works, does anyone know any leads to what i can do?

Rkhunter finds modified files, like sudo, slocate, logger, mount, more, dmesg, whereis. Combined with the middle nightly startups spooky indeed, but it might just be upgrade related. How can i tell?

I consider dismissing the upgrade and falling back to the ol' and nice 7.10 version of ubuntu. What is wisdom here?

Thanks for helping me,
    kind regards

Aearenda is offline Iced Almond Soy Ubuntu, No Foam
    Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Strange upgrade problems Ubuntu 8.04 (repost from installation forum)

The automatic turning on sounds like a BIOS setting - there's no way it could be caused by Ubuntu itself, unless it is actually failing to switch the machine off when closing down. Take a look through the BIOS setting at startup.

For the modified files, you could try reinstalling the relevant packages.

For Xorg, I would go into a recovery startup (from the GRUB menu), enter the command line and do
    Code:
    lspci | grep VGA