Page 80 of 81 FirstFirst ... 307078798081 LastLast
Results 791 to 800 of 810

Thread: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

  1. #791
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    owain@owain-laptop:~$ ./compiz-check

    Gathering information about your system...

    Distribution: Ubuntu 10.04
    Desktop environment: GNOME
    Graphics chip: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller (rev 03)
    Driver in use: intel
    Rendering method: None

    Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system... [SKIP]

    Checking for hardware/setup problems... [SKIP]

    At least one check had to be skipped:
    Error: No rendering method in use (AIGLX, Xgl or Nvidia)


    Any help with this message would be appreciated...I used to have visual effects but they recently stopped working and I cannot figure out why. How can I enable a "rendering method"?

    Thanks, Owain

  2. #792
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    By the way, I seem to remember changing which processor is used for graphics whilst trying to solve the problem of poor frame rate in streamed video. It may be that the graphics card is doing the computations instead of the processor, or vice versa. I am a massive newbie so sorry if this isn't helpful!

    Owain

  3. #793
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Isn't it obvious?
    Beans
    432

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    hi,

    "Desktop effects could not be enabled" and i have transparency enabled in compiz but it does not work.
    Code:
      reed@reeds-Satellite-M30X-laptop:~/Desktop$ ./compiz-check
    
    Gathering information about your system...
    
     Distribution:          Ubuntu 10.10
     Desktop environment:   GNOME
     Graphics chip:         Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
     Driver in use:         vesa
     Rendering method:      AIGLX
    
    Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...  [SKIP]
    
     Checking for hardware/setup problems...           [SKIP]
    
    At least one check had to be skipped:
     Error: vesa driver in use 
    
    Would you like to know more? (Y/n) y
    
     The vesa driver is not capable of running Compiz, you need to install
     the proper driver for your graphics card. 
    
    Check if there's an alternate (proprietary) driver available? (Y/n) y
    reed@reeds-Satellite-M30X-laptop:~/Desktop$ compiz
    compiz (core) - Fatal: Software rendering detected.
    compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
    compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0
    
    Launching fallback window manager
    Window manager warning: Failed to load theme "default": Failed to find a valid file for theme default
    AMD Athlon II x4 640 - ASUS M4A88T-V EVO/USB3 - 12GB RAM - XFX ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB w/21.5" Monitor - Assorted HDDs - Mushkin Enhanced Chronos 120Gb SSD - [ArchLinux - Windows 7 - Mac OS X 10.6.8]
    If all else fails, read the instructions.

  4. #794
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    7

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    heres my compiz-check result

    Code:
    compiz (core) - Fatal: Software rendering detected.
    compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
    compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0
    
    Launching fallback window manager
    i have no graphic card, amd64 3000+ with 1.5gb ram and ubuntu 10.10

  5. #795
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Updating the NVIDIA Driver fixed the "Error: Unable to detect maximum 3D texture size" for me and Compiz is working again.
    [NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS]

    thnx.

  6. #796
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    if I run the compriz check I get this :

    Gathering information about your system...

    Distribution: Ubuntu 10.04
    Desktop environment: GNOME
    Graphics chip: nVidia Corporation G98 [GeForce 9200M GS] (rev a1)
    Driver in use: nvidia
    Rendering method: Nvidia

    Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...

    Checking for texture_from_pixmap... [ OK ]
    Checking for non power of two support... [ OK ]
    Checking for composite extension... [ OK ]
    Checking for FBConfig... [ OK ]
    Checking for hardware/setup problems... [ OK ]

    extra visual effects
    So it seems like everything is just fine but , if I want to enable extra visual effects it seems not possible( see picture ) and because that ist possible it isn't possible to run compriz properly as well . What can be the issue here ?


  7. #797
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Owain, that looks like what I'm getting on 9.04 when trying to use an Intel card with an nVIDIA card installed. You probably want to switch back to the other card - it's probably better for your purposes - but that's not a good option for me.

    Edit: Here is a set of instructions that would probably work for you. But I wouldn't follow them unless I was really sure what I was doing.

    My only problem now is that I didn't back up the Intel files in the first place.
    Last edited by Ken_g6; November 22nd, 2010 at 12:54 AM.

  8. #798
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Thanks for the link and the script Forlong!

    I've run the script and made the necessary changes so that everything now gets a pass.

    Basically I downloaded a Compiz update today on Update Manager and now Compiz cannot be enabled. Here's my device info:

    Code:
    Distribution:          Ubuntu 10.10
     Desktop environment:   GNOME
     Graphics chip:         nVidia Corporation G73 [GeForce 7600 GT] (rev a1)
     Driver in use:         nvidia
     Rendering method:      Nvidia

  9. #799

    Post Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Code:
     
    Distribution:          Ubuntu 10.04
     Desktop environment:   Unknown
     Graphics chip:         VIA Technologies, Inc. K8M800/K8N800/K8N800A [S3 UniChrome Pro] (rev 01)
     Driver in use:         openchrome
     Rendering method:      AIGLX
    
    Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...  [SKIP]
    
     Checking for hardware/setup problems...           [SKIP]
    
    At least one check had to be skipped:
     Error: openchrome driver in use

  10. #800
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    I tried my own thread on this and am not getting a response, so I have a couple of question if someone can help me. I have installed the fglrx driver on my system with an HD 3650 and cannot enable compiz. For the moment my main question is how to enable AIGLX. When I run compiz-check no rendering method is detected. I have enabled it in xorg.conf by adding the option as true in ServerLayout and by enabling Composite in the Extensions section (which I added). However, when I do "grep -i AIGLX /var/log/Xorg.0.log" here is the result:

    Code:
    [    21.256] (**) Option "AIGLX" "true"
    [    26.141] (II) AIGLX: Loaded and initialized /usr/lib64/dri/fglrx_dri.so
    As you can see, there is no line saying AIGLX enabled.

    What's also bizarre is that I can load compiz manually using the command, with both this driver and when I reverted to the non-proprietary one. It only fails when I try to enable it via the Appearance menu. More details here.

    Note: If I modify compiz-check to have it set RENDER=AIGLX even though it isn't in the log then all checks come back as OK. However, I still cannot enable desktop effects. They turn on, the screen refreshes with all of them enabled, then it says "Desktop effects could not be enabled." and turns them back off again.
    Last edited by Raugturi; December 14th, 2010 at 08:22 PM.

Page 80 of 81 FirstFirst ... 307078798081 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •