Thread: Protect config files in /etc

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Protect config files in /etc

Oi there

I've got a desktop computer running Ubuntu and my laptop is running Gentoo. Lately I've used my laptop a lot (and generally just fiddling with setting up the system) and I've grown accustomed to setting system wide configs in /etc, thus not needing to have identical .zshrc, .vimrc and so on in ~/ and /root.

When I put Hardy on my desktop i started configuring the system the same way. But suppose I updated, let's say, Vim, wouldn't that destroy my configs? So far no updates have ruined anything, but is there any way to protect these files in Ubuntu? If not, what clever tricks are available to having a single configuration for my everyday user and root?

There might be a very simple answer to this, but hey, I'm still learning the ways of Ubuntu.

Beans

Re: Protect config files in /etc

For gnome type configurations, I just put at the top or bottom:
    Code:
    include "/path/to/config"
    And have all my settings put in there.

For script files, it is very much the same:
    ie: BASH
    Code:
    . /path/to/script
    Generally, the config files are left alone (ie, crontab, gdm, apt), and if they are tinkered with (a good example is me always tinkering with the /boot/grub/menu.lst script). Then when you install a package (at least, via aptitude) it will ask you what want to do with the file.
    Of the top of my head, I think its:
    - Leave Altered File Unchanged,
    - Replace old lines with new.
    - Erase over with package maintainer file.

And if it doesn't, the deb scripts are smart enough not to erase your personal settings anyway!

They use a technique where they read the config file line by line and add new configurations/replace old ones using line matching.
    ie, you'll read something like this:
    Code:
    This line is unaltered
    --Remove this line++Put this here instead
    This line remains
    ++New Line++