Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Emerald help

Beans

Emerald help

Hi guys.. So i am pretty new to ubuntu, i used it about a year ago, and now im getting back into it. I have it tripple booted on my macbook pro with leopard and xp pro. Anyways, i love to customize the look of my desktop, so I downloaded some emerald themes, cause they are pretty cool. It took me forever to figure out how to apply the themes. But this is where i am at,

I have a theme selected in emerald,
    to get it to work, i have to type emerald --replace in terminal.
    Then the theme shows up, but if i close the terminal window, I have no window border, and i have to type emerald --replace in terminal again. So that is kinda a pain, anything I can do about that?

The second thing is: what if i get tired of an emerald theme, how can i get it so that i go inter appearance under System Preferences, and select a theme and window border from there to work. I cant get those themes to work now. how can i switch between emerald, and the gnome default theme manager?

Beans

Re: Emerald help

i have the exact same problem, i have given up on emerald because of it.
    but if anyone knows why this is happening that would be awesome

Beans

To keep emerald running you can do one of two things:
    1. In the terminal append an ampersand to the line to detach the process. So the command becomes "emerald --replace &". You will need to run this each session that you want emerald running in, or
    2. Auto start emerald with the session. Go to System, Preferences, Sessions then Add and enter "emerald --replace" as the command

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by rich257 View Post
    To keep emerald running you can do one of two things:
    1. In the terminal append an ampersand to the line to detach the process. So the command becomes "emerald --replace &". You will need to run this each session that you want emerald running in, or