Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    9

    Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

    like the title says, I can get samba to work with vista, but not with my other ubuntu computer.
    Here is the setup:

    Desktop-ubuntu
    Laptop_1- ubuntu
    Laptop_2 - Vista


    I have files shared on Lapatop_1 and desktop, these files are visible and usable on the vista laptop. However, the two ubuntu machines should the computers as being in the network but no shared folders. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

    bump

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

    anyone have any ideas...... windows can access everything fine. Ubuntu can see file on the other ubuntu computer. Where am I going wrong?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    83

    Re: Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

    Are they all in the same workgroup? Or are you trying to use a domain?

    Do you have to use a user name to log into the share on laptop_1 from the vista box?

    Could you post the /etc/samba/smb.conf from laptop_1?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

    Yes, they are all on "workgroup" they all show up on the workgroup. I can see and access the files on the Ubuntu machines through the vista machine. I have no issue with the vista machine, I don't need a user name to sign in because I added it as a user on both the Ububt machines through samba. No I am not trying to use a domain. Here is the congf file for samba on the laptop_1

    [global]
    ; General server settings
    netbios name = daniel-laptop
    server string =
    workgroup = WORKGROUP
    security = user
    null passwords = true
    username map = /etc/samba/smbusers
    name resolve order = hosts wins bcast

    wins support = no

    printing = CUPS
    printcap name = CUPS

    syslog = 1
    syslog only = yes

    ; NOTE: If you need access to the user home directories uncomment the
    ; lines below and adjust the settings to your hearts content.
    ;[homes]
    ;valid users = %S
    ;create mode = 0600
    ;directory mode = 0755
    ;browseable = no
    ;read only = no
    ;veto files = /*.{*}/.*/mail/bin/

    ; NOTE: Only needed if you run samba as a primary domain controller.
    ; Not needed as this config doesn't cover that matter.
    ;[netlogon]
    ;path = /var/lib/samba/netlogon
    ;admin users = Administrator
    ;valid users = %U
    ;read only = no

    ; NOTE: Again - only needed if you're running a primary domain controller.
    ;[Profiles]
    ;path = /var/lib/samba/profiles
    ;valid users = %U
    ;create mode = 0600
    ;directory mode = 0700
    ;writeable = yes
    ;browseable = no

    ; NOTE: Inside this place you may build a printer driver repository for
    ; Windows - I'll cover this topic in another HOWTO.
    [print$]
    path = /var/lib/samba/printers
    browseable = yes
    guest ok = yes
    read only = yes
    write list = root
    create mask = 0664
    directory mask = 0775

    [printers]
    path = /tmp
    printable = yes
    guest ok = yes
    browseable = no

    ; Uncomment if you need to share your CD-/DVD-ROM Drive
    ;[DVD-ROM Drive]
    ;path = /media/cdrom
    ;browseable = yes
    ;read only = yes
    ;guest ok = yes

    [MyFiles]
    path = /home/daniel/Pictures
    browseable = yes
    read only = yes
    guest ok = yes
    create mask = 0644
    directory mask = 0755
    force user = daniel
    force group = daniel
    Like I said before vista is not an issue at all. However, between the two Ubuntu boxes, the computers show up, but no files are visible.


    Thanks in advance.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    83

    Re: Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

    That all looks good.

    Can you go in from a command line client from laptop_2?

    First try to list the shares on the computer:

    smbclient -L //laptop_1

    (Or smbclient -L \\\\laptop_1 if you like backslashes)

    If MyFiles shows up there, then

    smbclient //laptop_1/MyFiles -U daniel


    should give you an ftp-like program to navigate your share. If you can do a dir from here (and get to copy a file down) then your laptop_1 samba is set up fine.

    Do you have the smbfs package installed on the Ubuntu systems?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

    yeah, it all checks out!

    the problem is not with laptop_1 or the vista laptop. Perhaps the desktop is wrong?

    Oh, yes i can get in the command line on the vista laptop.

    Domain=[DANIEL-LAPTOP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.28a]

    Sharename Type Comment
    --------- ---- -------
    print$ Disk
    MyFiles Disk
    IPC$ IPC IPC Service ()
    PDF Printer PDF
    Domain=[DANIEL-LAPTOP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.28a]

    Server Comment
    --------- -------

    Workgroup Master
    --------- -------
    WORKGROUP ANGELS-PC
    daniel@daniel-laptop:~$ smbclient //daniel-laptop/MyFiles -U daniel
    Password:
    Domain=[DANIEL-LAPTOP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.28a]
    smb: \> dir
    . D 0 Sat May 17 18:50:06 2008
    .. D 0 Mon May 19 17:56:11 2008
    img_0910.jpg 1027051 Wed May 14 23:49:31 2008
    img_0951.jpg 1504218 Wed May 14 23:49:39 2008
    img_0934.jpg 2393972 Wed May 14 23:49:36 2008

    One thing I noticed is that there are two workgroups "WORKGROUP" and "Workgroup"
    what does this mean?
    Last edited by buntu_noob; May 19th, 2008 at 11:23 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

    perhaps this will make thing easier to follow.

    Laptop_1:daniel-laptop (Ubuntu machine)
    Laptop_2: Angels-pc (Vista machine)
    Desktop: master-desktop (ubuntu machine)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

    any more thoughts guys?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    83

    Re: Samba working fine with vista, but not other ubuntu!??

    Nope, I'm not familiar enough with the GUI Linux environment and Samba. Almost all my experience has been with smbclient and smbfs from the command line.

    It's almost got to be a permissions or authentication issue, but I don't know why the command line would work and the GUI wouldn't.

    Sorry!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •