Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Beans
    1,223
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

    Here is what fixed the skipping for me. I got this from another thread, but I forget which one.

    1) sudo apt-get install --reinstall pulseaudio (don't know if absolutely necessary)

    2) gksudo gedit /etc/pulse/daemon.conf ( I would suggest making a backup of this file before you edit it.)

    3) replace the lines containing "high-priority" and "nice-level" with
    Code:

    high-priority = yes
    nice-level = -15

    and the lines containing "default-sample-rate", "default-fragments" and "default-fragment-size-msec" with
    Code:

    default-sample-rate = 48000
    default-fragments = 8
    default-fragment-size-msec = 10

    4) log off and log in
    Using Ubuntu since Warty Warthog (4.10)
    32 bit 5.04>5.10>6.06>6.10>7.04>7.10>8.04>8.10>9.04>9.10
    64 bit 9.10 upgraded to 10.04>10.10>11.04>11.10>12.04>14.04

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    38
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

    Thanks for the suggestion. It didn't make any difference, unfortunately. The skipping is still there in Amarok (but not VLC, which also uses PulseAudio) when I move about the desktop.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Beans
    1,223
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

    Here is the absolutely latest info on fixing sound skipping in Hardy:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=4928900
    Using Ubuntu since Warty Warthog (4.10)
    32 bit 5.04>5.10>6.06>6.10>7.04>7.10>8.04>8.10>9.04>9.10
    64 bit 9.10 upgraded to 10.04>10.10>11.04>11.10>12.04>14.04

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    3,052

    Re: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

    Blanket advice for everything: from what I understand Pulse takes some (in cases noticeable) cpu time, so you could try to disable it and see if things improve.
    ...

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    733
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

    Ever since playing around with the Beta version of Hardy i have learned my lesson.
    DON'T DO UPGRADES ONLY CLEAN INSTALLS.
    This sorted out like 85% of my hardy problems when i tried the beta and later the full version, from not being able to install the closed source nvidia drivers to audio/video problems and system freezes.
    The others were the incomplete install of Pulse Audio in Hardy, to some kernel errors for the Beta and some kernel problems with virtualbox in the final version.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    North Alabama
    Beans
    111
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

    I've noticed that videos don't look as clear on mine after going to 8.04. DVDs also seem to have trouble playing for some reason. I haven't had any problems with sound skipping though.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Beans
    83
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

    Quote Originally Posted by mgmiller View Post
    Here is what fixed the skipping for me. I got this from another thread, but I forget which one.

    1) sudo apt-get install --reinstall pulseaudio (don't know if absolutely necessary)

    2) gksudo gedit /etc/pulse/daemon.conf ( I would suggest making a backup of this file before you edit it.)

    3) replace the lines containing "high-priority" and "nice-level" with
    Code:

    high-priority = yes
    nice-level = -15

    and the lines containing "default-sample-rate", "default-fragments" and "default-fragment-size-msec" with
    Code:

    default-sample-rate = 48000
    default-fragments = 8
    default-fragment-size-msec = 10

    4) log off and log in
    this actually fixed it for me, except first it broke it...
    i reinstalled the package, and backed up the config file, made those changes, loged off and on and it broke it more (some error came up when playing a movie)
    so i reverted to my backed up file, loged off/on and it was still broken. i restarted and now it works

    soooooo install that package and restart works
    Every time you boot to windows, a kitten dies.

    Desktop - Athlon II X4, Radon HD 5770, dual (crt) monitor 1800x1440 & 1600x1200

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Beans
    1,223
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

    This line seems to have a big influence depending on your sound card and system specs.

    Code:
    default-fragment-size-msec = 10
    10 worked for me, but in the thread located here:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=4928900

    This number has been changed to 5.

    Read the thread I linked to if you are still having sound problems.

    On one older system I have, the only thing that worked was going into System > Preferences > Sound and in the devices tab, changing everything from "Autodetect" to alsa. This effectively uses asla instead of pulse audio for pretty much everything.

    This should only be looked at as a temporary work around, as, in the very near future, everything is going to use pulse audio. I understand there are kernel level fixes already in hardy proposed that fix this as well as other problems.
    Using Ubuntu since Warty Warthog (4.10)
    32 bit 5.04>5.10>6.06>6.10>7.04>7.10>8.04>8.10>9.04>9.10
    64 bit 9.10 upgraded to 10.04>10.10>11.04>11.10>12.04>14.04

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Beans
    1,223
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

    Quote Originally Posted by cor2y View Post
    Ever since playing around with the Beta version of Hardy i have learned my lesson.
    DON'T DO UPGRADES ONLY CLEAN INSTALLS.
    For some hardware and software combinations, that is a true statement. But in my vast experience (of upgrading all of 2 systems that I built, one with ATI video and one with Nvidia), you can do upgrades pretty much painlessly. Look at my signature line to see how far I've gotten with one of my machines without doing a reinstall. My other one started with a clean install of 6.06 and has been upgraded right along to 8.04.

    Admittedly, some of the earlier upgrades required a fair amount of tinkering to get working correctly, but the last 2 (from 7.04 to 7.10 to 8.04) have been damn near perfect.
    Using Ubuntu since Warty Warthog (4.10)
    32 bit 5.04>5.10>6.06>6.10>7.04>7.10>8.04>8.10>9.04>9.10
    64 bit 9.10 upgraded to 10.04>10.10>11.04>11.10>12.04>14.04

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    38
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Worse multimedia performance in Hardy?

    Quote Originally Posted by cor2y View Post
    DON'T DO UPGRADES ONLY CLEAN INSTALLS.
    Well, I know that's how they do it in Windows country, but for me that is simply out of the question. A properly designed OS should never have to be reinstalled.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •