Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34

Thread: Focusrite Saffire LE

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    141

    Re: Focusrite Saffire LE

    Quote Originally Posted by unclernie View Post
    Well, the ffado and jackd builds went smoothly.
    Looking back thru the output of the jackd build, I find a note about adding /usr/lib/jack/ to /etc/ld.so.conf, but I don't see any evidence that this was done by the `make install` process. Ubuntu uses a slightly different file structure, and ld.so.conf only includes a reference to ld.so.conf.d/, but I don't see any evidence of update in there either.
    Could this be why I'm stuck?
    Most likely. Add this line to /etc/ld.so.conf:

    /usr/lib/jack

    However, since you compiled the latest version of JACK yourself (right?) you may have to add this line instead:

    /user/local/lib/jack

    I don't know the specifics about how JACK finds its drivers, but that is my best guess.
    Want to learn about Recording in Linux?
    Need audio hardware you know will work with Linux? http://www.linuxstudiopro.com

    checking whether we are using the GNU Fortran 77 compiler... no

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    28

    Re: Focusrite Saffire LE

    I've been working on getting my Saffire LE running on Ubuntu for a few weeks now, and have made a lot of progress. I've come miles, but I need help making it that last few inches. I'm almost there!

    I followed the installation guide on the ffado website, compiling jack myself per its instructions. After a long, hard road, I was finally able to hook everything up, start ffado-dbus-server & ffadomixer, and start jackd/qjackctl! I actually hear sound come through the device, but it lasts only a few seconds. Here is the output that seems to indicate the problem in the jack Messages panel:

    Code:
    01:17:07.655 JACK is starting...
    01:17:07.656 /usr/bin/jackd -dfirewire -dhw:0 -r44100 -p128 -n3
    01:17:07.673 JACK was started with PID=6315.
    no message buffer overruns
    jackd 0.115.1
    Copyright 2001-2005 Paul Davis and others.
    jackd comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
    This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
    under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details
    JACK compiled with System V SHM support.
    loading driver ..
    00296232505:  (ffado.cpp)[  99] ffado_streaming_init: libffado 1.999.36- built Oct 28 2008 21:40:30
    libiec61883 warning: Established connection on channel 0.
    You may need to manually set the channel on the receiving node.
    libiec61883 warning: Established connection on channel 1.
    You may need to manually set the channel on the transmitting node.
    01:17:09.822 Server configuration saved to "/home/pointfive/.jackdrc".
    01:17:09.825 Statistics reset.
    01:17:09.828 Client activated.
    01:17:09.834 JACK connection change.
    01:17:09.845 JACK connection graph change.  * I start hearing sound here *
    firewire ERR: Could not start streaming threads: -1 *** this is where the audio cuts out, 2-4 seconds later ***
    DRIVER NT: could not start driver
    cannot start driver
    01:17:14.657 JACK connection graph change.
    01:17:14.672 JACK connection change.
    Please, please someone help me solve these last few seemingly minor problems. Thanks!

    Further edit: This page http://www.ffado.org/?q=node/516 seems to hint at the problem. And it does seem that I have sound for a little longer if I set the Frames/Period really high. Still only a few seconds, though.

    I have yet to install the rt kernel, but something tells me that's not the problem since I don't even have Realtime enabled. Thoughts? I'll do that tomorrow.
    Last edited by pointfive; October 29th, 2008 at 06:51 AM. Reason: Answered a few of my own questions.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    28

    Re: Focusrite Saffire LE

    Okay, so I've installed the rt kernel and enabled realtime in Jack. The result is I now I'm getting inconsistent results. Usually I have sound for anywhere between 5 and 30 seconds.

    When I first boot up and run it, this is the result:
    Code:
    02:50:48.959 JACK connection graph change. * I get sound here *
    firewire ERR: Could not start streaming threads: -1  *** Sound cuts out here ***
    DRIVER NT: could not start driver
    cannot start driver
    02:50:53.148 JACK connection graph change.
    02:50:53.183 JACK connection change. * hangs here, so I click Stop *
    02:51:06.155 Client deactivated.
    02:51:06.162 JACK is stopping...
    jackd watchdog: timeout - killing jackd
    02:51:07.661 JACK was stopped successfully.
    02:51:07.663 Post-shutdown script...
    02:51:07.665 killall jackd
    02:51:07.667 JACK has crashed.
    jackd: no process killed
    02:51:08.092 Post-shutdown script terminated with exit status=256.
    Subsequent times I get this:
    Code:
    jackd watchdog: timeout - killing jackd
    03:03:55.879 Client deactivated.
    03:03:55.889 JACK was stopped successfully.
    03:03:55.890 Post-shutdown script...
    03:03:55.892 killall jackd
    03:03:55.893 JACK has crashed.
    cannot continue execution of the processing graph (Broken pipe)
    cannot continue execution of the processing graph (Broken pipe)
    .
    ...pages of the same error...
    .
    cannot continue execution of the processing graph (Broken pipe)
    cannot send request type 7 to server
    cannot continue execution of the processing graph (Broken pipe)
    cannot read result for request type 7 from server (Broken pipe)
    cannot continue execution of the processing graph (Broken pipe)
    cannot send request type 7 to server
    cannot continue execution of the processing graph (Broken pipe)
    cannot read result for request type 7 from server (Broken pipe)
    cannot continue execution of the processing graph (Broken pipe)
    jackd: no process killed
    In these cases, I still hear my instrument output, but jack is not running. Even if I close jack and stop ffado-dbus-server, I continue to hear sound.

    Any insight, anyone? Please help!
    Last edited by pointfive; October 29th, 2008 at 08:28 AM. Reason: Clarified details

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    99

    Re: Focusrite Saffire LE

    Quote Originally Posted by pointfive View Post
    Any insight, anyone? Please help!
    Hi... Sounds a lot like the problem I am still having...

    Check /var/log/syslog and look for a line like
    Code:
    fw-host0: Unrecoverable error!
    ohci1394: fw-host0: Iso Xmit 0 Context died:
    If you see that, it means that you're suffering from an error in the upstream kernel that no-one's working on at the moment... add your voice to this bug

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    28

    Re: Focusrite Saffire LE

    Thanks, prismatic. That's really discouraging. I'll join the chorus on that bug, but it looks like I'll have to go with XP for awhile. It's really frustrating to have to jump through so many hoops only to reach a dead end like this.

    Are you using your Saffire LE? What's your setup and how do you like it?

    One more quick question: I'm using an Expresscard firewire adapter (into a Dell Inspiron 1501). On that bug, Stephan says "The problem is between the controller and how our drivers update its DMA program." Does this mean if I use a different Expresscard, there might be a chance it would work?
    Last edited by pointfive; October 29th, 2008 at 06:36 PM.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    28

    Re: Focusrite Saffire LE

    I found something. This Ubuntu Studio hardware optimization guide mentions:

    Some of Ricoh chipsets are reported _not_ to work well, some seem to work fine. NEC chipset has been tested by a developer and is reported to work fine, but since Presonus advises against them, there must be a reason to avoid them.

    So far, in order of preference (best to worst) according to developers: Texas Instruments, VIA, NEC, O2 Micro (all are OHCI controllers)
    I'm pretty sure I saw "Ricoh" somewhere when I was compiling/installing everything, so the question it raises for me is... is the Ricoh chipset in my laptop, or in the firewire expresscard I'm using? (May be a dumb question, but I'm still a newbie.)

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    635

    Re: Focusrite Saffire LE

    type lspci in a terminal.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    99

    Re: Focusrite Saffire LE

    Quote Originally Posted by pointfive View Post
    I found something. This Ubuntu Studio hardware optimization guide mentions:



    I'm pretty sure I saw "Ricoh" somewhere when I was compiling/installing everything, so the question it raises for me is... is the Ricoh chipset in my laptop, or in the firewire expresscard I'm using? (May be a dumb question, but I'm still a newbie.)
    Probably in the expresscard, which means you may well be able to buy a new one. Try and find one with a TI chipset, for preference. But seriously, add your voice to the bug!

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    28

    Re: Focusrite Saffire LE

    Quote Originally Posted by prismatic7 View Post
    Check /var/log/syslog and look for a line like
    Code:
    fw-host0: Unrecoverable error!
    ohci1394: fw-host0: Iso Xmit 0 Context died:
    Hmm. Can't find that specific line in my syslog. Here's the closest I can find:
    Code:
    ohci1394: fw-host0: isochronous cycle too long
    ieee1394: Node changed: 0-01:1023 -> 0-00:1023
    ieee1394: Node suspended: ID:BUS[0-00:1023]  GUID[00130e0100042e10]
    doh, someone wants to mess with state set
    ieee1394: Node resumed: ID:BUS[0-00:1023]  GUID[00130e0100042e10]
    ieee1394: Node changed: 0-00:1023 -> 0-01:1023
    ieee1394: Node changed: 0-01:1023 -> 0-00:1023
    ieee1394: Node suspended: ID:BUS[0-00:1023]  GUID[00130e0100042e10]
    doh, someone wants to mess with state set
    ieee1394: Node resumed: ID:BUS[0-00:1023]  GUID[00130e0100042e10]
    ieee1394: Node changed: 0-00:1023 -> 0-01:1023
    ieee1394: Error parsing configrom for node 0-00:1023
    Don't know if that means anything to anyone. Sure doesn't to me, but "doh" in the syslog isn't comforting.

    I also see a lot of APIC errors ("APIC error on CPU0") in the syslog. Could that be the problem? Should I disable APIC?

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    28

    Re: Focusrite Saffire LE

    Quote Originally Posted by prismatic7 View Post
    Probably in the expresscard, which means you may well be able to buy a new one. Try and find one with a TI chipset, for preference. But seriously, add your voice to the bug!
    Here are the pertinent lines I find with lspci (thanks, thorgal):

    Code:
    02:00.0 PCI bridge: Texas Instruments XIO2000(A)/XIO2200(A) PCI Express-to-PCI Bridge (rev 03)
    03:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments XIO2200(A) IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link) (rev 01)
    08:01.0 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 19)
    08:01.1 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller (rev 01)
    So I guess the bad news is that my expresscard is apparently a TI chipset, but my "SD Host controller" and "System peripheral" (whatever those are) have the Ricoh chipset. Are these causing the problem? Anyone know?
    Last edited by pointfive; October 30th, 2008 at 03:56 AM. Reason: updated info

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •