Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    338

    Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

    hi all,
    im not to sure if this is well known but i discovered this by pure accident it also works under windows firefox too :

    in options/preferences goto:
    general
    then in the line where you add the url for your home page add | after and add another url thus

    http://www.ubuntuforums.org|http://www.google.com|http://www.opennet.ru/soft/cisco-configuration.html

    do not put spaces between the site name and pipe.
    this will open each site in a seperate tab!
    im not sure if there is a limit on how many but i have 6 set in mine so experiment with it
    Last edited by tomski; October 20th, 2005 at 09:10 AM.
    If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!!
    AMD Athlon64 X2(4200)/6Gb/Nvidia 9400GT-1Gb/1.25Tb Arch Linux - Xfce

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    53.337,-3.095
    Beans
    363
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

    Superb. Thank you SO much for sharing that one! And pressing alt-home at any time brings 'em all back up again.

    Dave Mac

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    338

    Re: Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

    thats ok

    bt say "its good to talk"

    well tux says "its better to share!!"

    i could not believe it when it happend because i was at work and pissed off and i just went a bit bezerk and started hitting the keyboard!!!???
    and hey presto
    If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!!
    AMD Athlon64 X2(4200)/6Gb/Nvidia 9400GT-1Gb/1.25Tb Arch Linux - Xfce

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

    Re: Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

    Quote Originally Posted by tomski
    hi all,
    im not to sure if this is well known but i discovered this by pure accident it also works under windows firefox too :

    in options/preferences goto:
    general
    then in the line where you add the url for your home page add | after and add another url thus

    http://www.ubuntuforums.org|http://www.google.com|http://www.opennet.ru/soft/cisco-configuration.html

    do not put spaces between the site name and pipe.
    this will open each site in a seperate tab!
    im not sure if there is a limit on how many but i have 6 set in mine so experiment with it

    It works under Windows too !!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    338

    Re: Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

    i was using windows when i discoverd it which i thought was very bizzarre because windows does not use the pipe does it???
    If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!!
    AMD Athlon64 X2(4200)/6Gb/Nvidia 9400GT-1Gb/1.25Tb Arch Linux - Xfce

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    29
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

    I had found this out ages ago by accident as well lol, except how I found it out was by having say 4 tabs open, then remembering i had to get around to setting my homepage finally. I forgot to close the uneeded tabs and just went to set the homepage in preferences (use current page), when I did it and went back to my homepage by clicking the little house, 4 bloody pages opened in tabs lol. It did exactly what you said automatically. Good on you for letting others know.
    Last edited by Wandering Wombat; October 20th, 2005 at 03:30 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Alabama
    Beans
    45

    Re: Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

    This rocks! Nice tip bro.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    78

    Re: Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

    Nice tip. You can also do this without having to type by opening several tabs to the sites you want, going into Firefox options, then clicking Use Current Pages in the General section.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Newyork, NY
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

    Re: Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

    Quote Originally Posted by pelago
    Nice tip. You can also do this without having to type by opening several tabs to the sites you want, going into Firefox options, then clicking Use Current Pages in the General section.
    Nice tip....so it does open several taps with different sites when you click on Firefox

    Here is my question....

    If i want to open a new tap, Ctrl-T will do it but the new tab will be blank...is there anyway that a new tap will be opened to a certain site, not blank?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    338

    Re: Mozilla Firefox - Multiple Homepage Tabs

    If i want to open a new tap, Ctrl-T will do it but the new tab will be blank...is there anyway that a new tap will be opened to a certain site, not blank?


    dont think so the only way you can do this is id you right clik a link on a open page and select open in new tab
    If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!!
    AMD Athlon64 X2(4200)/6Gb/Nvidia 9400GT-1Gb/1.25Tb Arch Linux - Xfce

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •