Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    25

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    So now after messing around the older version of network-manager and having no luck, I went back to the current version (ubuntu5) and now I get no network icon in the systray...

    I looked through TomL's thread again and someone had him run some commands to just diagnose the problem, and my outputs are a bit different from his:

    lshw -C network
    *-network
    description: Ethernet interface
    product: NetLink BCM5787M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express
    vendor: Broadcom Corporation
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:04:00.0
    logical name: eth0
    version: 02
    serial: 00:1b:38:4c:60:e7
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=tg3 driverversion=3.86 latency=0 module=tg3 multicast=yes
    *-network
    description: Wireless interface
    product: PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN Network Connection
    vendor: Intel Corporation
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:0c:00.0
    logical name: wmaster0
    version: 61
    serial: 00:1d:e0:6f:ef:83
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: bus_master cap_list logical ethernet physical wireless
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=iwl4965 latency=0 module=iwl4965 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11g

    iwconfig
    wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"" Nickname:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Tx-Power=27 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thr=2346 B
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1b:38:4c:60:e7
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:17

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:3152 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:3152 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:157600 (153.9 KB) TX bytes:157600 (153.9 KB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:e0:6f:ef:83
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1D-E0-6F-EF-83-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    dmesg to follow...

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    25

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    Having issues posting the text straight in (says something about too many images) so I'll just upload the text file.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Beans
    5,638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    To get your icon back, go to System > Preferences > Sessions > Start-up Programs. See if there is a Start-up program called 'Network Manager / Network Manager Applet.'

    If there is, enable it. If not, Add it.
    For the command, use: nm-applet --sm-disable

    Then reboot your computer. Icon?

    Honestly, I don't think that all of this messing with HAL and re-loading Network Manager is going to solve the problem, but it is likely to result in a hosed system. I've never heard of anybody having to do any of that on our laptops.

    The problem is most likely your router, or its MAC settings. Your previous logs showed that it is seeing the router, offering it the code, and then timing out. It is timing out because the router is not responding to it. So, if you are sure you have everything set appropriately in Network Manager, the problem is likely in your router.

    The firmware upgrade idea was a good one. So was testing with a different router.
    To err is human, to forgive is very ... dog-like.

    Thomas Aaron
    FetchMasters, LLC

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    418
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    Quote Originally Posted by thomasaaron View Post

    Honestly, I don't think that all of this messing with HAL and re-loading Network Manager is going to solve the problem, but it is likely to result in a hosed system. I've never heard of anybody having to do any of that on our laptops.
    I agree, but wanted to toss that out there if the router swap failed. Because at that point, the install is a no joy anyway, ya know? So hosing HAL is of little consequence by that point. Well and to be brutally honest, while I am speaking of made for Windows computers of course, I have had success doing this as a last ditch effort and NM does tend to regress like a stuck pig with little notice - Feisty vs Gutsy with RaLink chipsets, for example. Yeah, most of it was the change in the new wireless stack between 7.04 and 7.10, but I believe changes made to NM were also key as well. Obviously, made for Linux hardware is in a different boat, but when all else fails...

    Sorry, I had to nitpick. It's just been a really annoying day here in Washington State today.
    Last edited by ctsdownloads; May 12th, 2008 at 06:16 PM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Beans
    5,638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    Because at that point, the install is a no joy anyway, ya know? So hosing HAL is of little consequence by that point.
    but when all else fails...
    That is true.

    Sorry, I had to nitpick. It's just been a really annoying day here in Washington State today.
    I hear ya. Right now it is about 70 degrees outside in Denver.
    Tomorrow they are calling for snow!! IT'S MAY, FOR PETE'S SAKE!! Talk about annoying...
    To err is human, to forgive is very ... dog-like.

    Thomas Aaron
    FetchMasters, LLC

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    418
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    Quote Originally Posted by thomasaaron View Post
    That is true.



    I hear ya. Right now it is about 70 degrees outside in Denver.
    Tomorrow they are calling for snow!! IT'S MAY, FOR PETE'S SAKE!! Talk about annoying...
    Wow, that is wild - summer one day, winter the next - you have to love Colorado!

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    25

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    Alright, so I went to Best Buy today to "borrow" two new routers for tonight with my credit card. I got two standard wireless G routers (both of them having nothing to do with wireless N, made sure ). One was a belkin and the other a dynex (which is best buy's home brand). I think I conducted an experiment that would have made my middle school teachers proud, the same who loved to talk about the scientific method:

    I had three computers for my experiment: 1) My system76 gazelle laptop 2) my sister's brand new vaio laptop 3) one of the office desktops. For each router I would connect up the desktop, configure the router for our ISP and set it to no security or MAC filtering, and then check to see if the internet works. Then I would see if my sister's laptop would connect, see if it could see the desktop, access the internet, make use of the router, etc. And then finally I would try and connect my gazelle using NM by left clicking the systray icon and connecting to the wireless network. So that was my method, now for the results

    Belkin Wireless G router:
    Desktop hooked up fine, properly setup the router, accessed the internet
    Sister's laptop found and connected to the wireless internet fine, could see the desktop through the network
    My Gazelle could see the network as strong as could be, but would not connect. While tail -f /var/log/daemon.log it caught up on "Old device 'wlan0' activating, won't change' and then would repeat that step maybe 8 times until it gave up and put wlan0 to sleep (I'll attach a sample in the following post of what I've been seeing up this entire time while trying to get it work, always has been the same)

    ASIDE: Its slightly different when I disable roaming and try manually setting it up (entering the network id and setting it to Auto DHCP), it says it claims an IP address that is always the same regardless of which network, something like 169.241.etc and then it times out. I'll attach an example of that as well in the following post.

    Dynex Wireless G router:
    Same exact results as the Belkin, with both the desktop and my sister's laptop connecting, seeing each other, able to access the internet with my gazelle seeing the network at full strength and then timing out.

    So thats the experiment I did, I'll probably go return the two routers tomorrow. I'll leave the interpreting of the results up to you two guys. Thanks again for taking the time to look at this too, I do appreciate the help!

    And that weather sounds all too familiar to me. I remember last year towards the end of school at U of Michigan we had 2 weeks of beautiful 70 degree spring weather, and then we had a blizzard for two days. And this was in April, gah!
    Last edited by Beridel; May 13th, 2008 at 12:20 AM.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    25

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    Here are the two logs for using the systray setup and then the manual setup:

    Systray setup:
    beridel@ubuntu:~$ tail -f /var/log/daemon.log
    May 12 18:58:02 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> SUP: sending command 'ADD_NETWORK'
    May 12 18:58:02 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> SUP: response was '0'
    May 12 18:58:02 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> SUP: sending command 'SET_NETWORK 0 ssid 4672616e6b'
    May 12 18:58:02 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> SUP: response was 'OK'
    May 12 18:58:02 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> SUP: sending command 'SET_NETWORK 0 key_mgmt NONE'
    May 12 18:58:02 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> SUP: response was 'OK'
    May 12 18:58:02 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> SUP: sending command 'ENABLE_NETWORK 0'
    May 12 18:58:02 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> SUP: response was 'OK'
    May 12 18:58:02 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> Activation (wlan0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) complete.
    May 12 18:58:08 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> Old device 'wlan0' activating, won't change.
    May 12 18:58:43 ubuntu last message repeated 3 times


    Manually setup:
    beridel@ubuntu:~$ tail -f /var/log/daemon.log
    May 12 19:11:57 ubuntu avahi-autoipd(wlan0)[5946]: Found user 'avahi-autoipd' (UID 105) and group 'avahi-autoipd' (GID 113).
    May 12 19:11:57 ubuntu avahi-autoipd(wlan0)[5946]: Successfully called chroot().
    May 12 19:11:57 ubuntu avahi-autoipd(wlan0)[5946]: Successfully dropped root privileges.
    May 12 19:11:57 ubuntu avahi-autoipd(wlan0)[5946]: Starting with address 169.254.9.118
    May 12 19:12:02 ubuntu avahi-autoipd(wlan0)[5946]: Callout BIND, address 169.254.9.118 on interface wlan0
    May 12 19:12:04 ubuntu avahi-daemon[5192]: Joining mDNS multicast group on interface wlan0.IPv4 with address 169.254.9.118.
    May 12 19:12:04 ubuntu avahi-daemon[5192]: New relevant interface wlan0.IPv4 for mDNS.
    May 12 19:12:04 ubuntu avahi-daemon[5192]: Registering new address record for 169.254.9.118 on wlan0.IPv4.
    May 12 19:12:06 ubuntu avahi-autoipd(wlan0)[5946]: Successfully claimed IP address 169.254.9.118
    May 12 19:12:09 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> Updating allowed wireless network lists.
    May 12 19:12:47 ubuntu ntpdate[6161]: can't find host ntp.ubuntu.com
    May 12 19:12:47 ubuntu ntpdate[6161]: no servers can be used, exiting

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Beans
    569
    Distro
    Lubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    This is what that section of my log looks like:

    May 12 18:22:57 dads NetworkManager: <info> Activation (wlan0) Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) complete.
    May 12 18:22:57 dads NetworkManager: <info> DHCP daemon state is now 12 (successfully started) for interface wlan0
    May 12 18:22:57 dads NetworkManager: <info> Old device 'wlan0' activating, won't change.
    May 12 18:22:57 dads dhclient: wmaster0: unknown hardware address type 801
    May 12 18:22:58 dads NetworkManager: <info> DHCP daemon state is now 1 (starting) for interface wlan0
    May 12 18:22:58 dads dhclient: wmaster0: unknown hardware address type 801
    May 12 18:22:59 dads dhclient: DHCPREQUEST of 192.168.15.101 on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
    May 12 18:23:00 dads dhclient: DHCPACK of 192.168.15.101 from 192.168.15.1
    May 12 18:23:00 dads avahi-daemon[5307]: Joining mDNS multicast group on interface wlan0.IPv4 with address 192.168.15.101.
    May 12 18:23:00 dads avahi-daemon[5307]: New relevant interface wlan0.IPv4 for mDNS.
    May 12 18:23:00 dads avahi-daemon[5307]: Registering new address record for 192.168.15.101 on wlan0.IPv4.
    May 12 18:23:00 dads dhclient: bound to 192.168.15.101 -- renewal in 38420 seconds.
    May 12 18:23:00 dads NetworkManager: <info> DHCP daemon state is now 4 (reboot) for interface wlan0
    May 12 18:23:00 dads NetworkManager: <info> Activation (wlan0) Stage 4 of 5 (IP Configure Get) scheduled...

    It looks like your DHCP deamon isn't starting.
    Don't know why......

    If you boot to an Ubuntu liveCD will it connect??

    jdb
    Last edited by jdb; May 13th, 2008 at 12:52 AM.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Beans
    5,638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    OK, let's make your science teacher even more proud. Here are two more considerations:

    1. There is a chance that your configurations are so hosed after all of this experimentation that Network Manager couldn't work properly if it wanted to. Boot your computer from a live CD and see if it will connect to the wireless network. Use the router of your choice. If you can connect, then we know it is a configuration issue, and your wireless card is fine.

    2. There was a bug in network manager that kept it from connecting to UNSECURED networks. It did not affect all computers the same. It seemed to be related to certain computer/router/configuration combinations. Let's rule that out. Try setting up WPA encryption. Can you connect? If not, try that from a live CD as well. (Leave Mac filtering OUT of the equation.)

    Hopefully these two experiments will give us a definitive answer as to whether we need to replace your wireless card, re-image your computer, etc...
    To err is human, to forgive is very ... dog-like.

    Thomas Aaron
    FetchMasters, LLC

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •