Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Does Hardy Need Anti Virus if ...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Beans
    51
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Does Hardy Need Anti Virus if ...

    If I already have an anti virus on the Vista side, same question with a firewall ... With Hardy I didn't partition the hard drive so I'm not sure what the answer to my question is ...

    I'm perplexed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    US
    Beans
    2,782
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Does Hardy Need Anti Virus if ...

    you dont need to worry about virii infecting your ubuntu OS although many people recommend that you have a virus scanner so that you dont inadvertently forward virii on to other windows users. As for a firewall you already have IPtables installed. It is recommened that you use a firewall. As for configuring the firewall you should look into firestarter:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install firestarter
    Desktop: Q6600 OC: 343 x 9, 4 GB RAM, 8600 GTS Twinview (22",17"), 1.5 TB RAID 5
    Laptop: Lenovo T61 T7300 @ 2 GHz, 2GB RAM, Nvidia 140M Quadro, 160 GB harddrive
    Remember to mark posts as [SOLVED] when your problem is resolved

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: Does Hardy Need Anti Virus if ...

    I don't think you need to install firestarter...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    From the land down under
    Beans
    1,245
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Does Hardy Need Anti Virus if ...

    Quote Originally Posted by tamoneya View Post
    virii virii
    viruses*

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: Does Hardy Need Anti Virus if ...


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Beans
    51
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: Does Hardy Need Anti Virus if ...

    Well I was looking at AVG but I have McAfee already installed, not sure it runs during Ubuntu, plus my router has a firewall, so I should be safe there ...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •