Page 135 of 241 FirstFirst ... 3585125133134135136137145185235 ... LastLast
Results 1,341 to 1,350 of 2402

Thread: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

  1. #1341
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    3,713

    Re: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

    The de-interlacing filter yadif recently added to FFmpeg isn't working as I expected. It seems to be adding artifacts to dvvideo inputs. Is anyone else noticing this? One developer said he did not.

    Code:
    wget http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/DV-raw/small_test2.dv
    ffmpeg -i small_test2.dv -vf yadif -qscale 3 -an yadif.mp4
    Watch the top row of pixels. I haven't tried any other input formats and regular, old -deinterlace doesn't introduce the artifacts.

    However, if I change the output to .mpg, and play the video with ffplay, I get a different behavior:
    Code:
    mpeg1video @ 0x265c820] aspect ratio has forbidden 0 value
    How about this one? Anyone else get that? This is FFmpeg version SVN-r25329 on Arch Linux x86_64.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #1342
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    16,090

    Re: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

    Don't see any artifacts at top (screen vlc, but same with other players
    (r25329 - 10.10, nvidia
    Last edited by mc4man; September 18th, 2012 at 07:40 PM.

  3. #1343
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    16,090

    Re: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

    syntax was as follows...
    Thanks for that, will have to fool around a bit there,
    (just noticed I built ffmpeg off of a tuned vorbis, didn't complain, though don't know what advantage, if any, is there.

    Well OT
    I did see how vlc handled transcoding to webm (vp8 ) a ways back, seemed to have some real issues if you raised the br above it's default

  4. #1344
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    7,312

    Re: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

    I cannot see the problem on r25321 on 32 bit Slackware 13.0, I got a little excited when I saw some flickering at the base of the clip but then noticed that this is in the original as well . This can only really be seen if you remove the borders:

    Code:
    mplayer -noborder small_test2.dv
    and I am not sure if this has any significance at all...

    Andrew
    You think that's air you're breathing now?

  5. #1345
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    16,090

    Re: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

    Anyone else get that...
    moving to a 64 bit install and the artifacts do show up at the top as in your screen.
    So 32 bit is fine, 64 not so.

  6. #1346
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    7,312

    Re: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

    Hi mc4man,

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    Thanks for that, will have to fool around a bit there,
    (just noticed I built ffmpeg off of a tuned vorbis, didn't complain, though don't know what advantage, if any, is there.
    To borrow the work of alienBOB again I note that his slackware script for FFmpeg incorporates some libvpx presets:

    http://slackware.org.uk/people/alien...ts-libvpx.diff

    Something like this would be usefully incorporated into the FFmpeg source?

    Andrew
    You think that's air you're breathing now?

  7. #1347
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    The Moon
    Beans
    130
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

    Requesting Help, in building all ffmpeg profiles, please if your interested in helping me with the profiles pm me or visit this page, i just need compatible ffmpeg commands

    for adobe flash , ipod,itouch,etc you get the idea i want everything all the profiles



    http://www.expertcore.org/viewtopic....1&p=4345#p4345

    this is how it looks like my open source transcoder


    help me with the profiles anybody ?
    thanks for reading
    Last edited by mysoogal; October 4th, 2010 at 05:13 AM. Reason: noob
    sudo -s

  8. #1348
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    3,713

    Re: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.46 View Post
    I cannot see the problem on r25321 on 32 bit Slackware 13.0...
    Thanks for taking a look at this.

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    So 32 bit is fine, 64 not so.
    Yes, 32 bit is fine for me as well. Good catch.

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.46 View Post
    Something like this would be usefully incorporated into the FFmpeg source?
    I'm sure more preset files would be appreciated contributions. I'm probably missing something obvious and I only took a quick look, but this patch contains some options, such as lag, that don't seem to be present in my FFmpeg.

  9. #1349
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee,WI
    Beans
    6,282
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

    does anyone else have an issue with screencasting in linux by using ffmpeg and it cutting off the audio prior to hitting the q button to stop ffmpeg from capturing? THis is the command i run
    Code:
    ffmpeg -f alsa -ac 2 -i pulse -f x11grab -r 29.97 -s 1024x768 -i :0.0 -acodec pcm_s16le -vcodec libx264 -vpre lossless_ultrafast -threads 0 output.mkv
    and like I said it cuts off the audio prior to me even hitting the "q" button to stop ffmpeg. kind of weird and not really critical as I can just let it capture a few seconds after I am done talking but still annoying.

    I am using ffmpeg SVN-r25112 with the following compile configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --enable-nonfree --enable-postproc --enable-pthreads --enable-libfaac --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopencore-amrnb --enable-libopencore-amrwb --enable-libtheora --enable-libx264 --enable-libxvid --enable-x11grab

    playback in vlc or totem results in same missing audio towards the end. ive already posted this in the screencasting thread but thought maybe you guys could be helpful here as well. sorry if i should'nt have double posted it.

  10. #1350
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    16,090

    Re: HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264

    It seems to be adding artifacts...
    In a way it reminds me of on my son's hd tv - sometimes you see that once and a while on certain channels. It's like the picture isn't quite filling the screen.

    (if you increase the height by 2 lines the effect isn't seen on the sample encode

Page 135 of 241 FirstFirst ... 3585125133134135136137145185235 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •