Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Question issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

    hello, i'm having problems with embedded videos, everytime i want to see one, my cpu goes to 100%, i tried to uninstall the flash plugins and install the gnash ones, but everything remained the same, i've read in other post about a guy who upgraded from version 7.10 instead of making a clean 8.04 install, he now could choose from different kernels (.22 and .24) saying that .22 works best with his 8.04 installation and that it solved a lot of issues, my answer is, do i have to install 7.10 and upgrade to 8.04 to select the old .22 kernel or is there another solution to this problem????

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Iowa
    Beans
    113
    Distro
    Xubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

    You could use the gnash flash plugin for firefox, it's not that great but it gets the job done. You could install a different browser, firefox 3 has been causing quite a few problems with the flash player. I use swiftweasel.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1
    EPIC FAIL
    Quote Originally Posted by daengbo View Post
    Are you using Ubuntu?
    Quote Originally Posted by Pokerface1969 View Post
    No I'm not.. Should I be? What is Ubuntu?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

    where can i find swiftweasel??? i looked for it using synaptic but nothig was found

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Thulcandra
    Beans
    91
    Distro
    Ubuntu CE

    Re: issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

    Swiftweasel can be found here.

    And if you want to try using the older kernel, I think you can just install the package linux-image-2.6.22-14-generic, if that's available in 8.04 (I'm still a Gutsy user). Should show up in GRUB, then.

    Pepidemic: hunting down strange and wonderful things from across the internets, and laying them, like dead rodents, at your feet.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

    Quote Originally Posted by markekeller View Post
    Swiftweasel can be found here.

    And if you want to try using the older kernel, I think you can just install the package linux-image-2.6.22-14-generic, if that's available in 8.04 (I'm still a Gutsy user). Should show up in GRUB, then.
    nope. it couldn't find it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    1,395

    Re: issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

    R click on the flash video you are trying to watch

    Click settings

    Disable hardware acceleration

    Reload the page and flash should be less choppy
    Hmmm...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomatz View Post
    R click on the flash video you are trying to watch

    Click settings

    Disable hardware acceleration

    Reload the page and flash should be less choppy
    i just got properties and that option is not appearing

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    1,395

    Re: issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

    Quote Originally Posted by jonaphant View Post
    i just got properties and that option is not appearing
    Try doing it on a youtube video to change it as it should give you a settings option.

    Are you sure it is embedded flash you are trying to view.

    Can you send me a link?
    Last edited by Tomatz; May 2nd, 2008 at 09:00 PM.
    Hmmm...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

    but the hardware accelerator stuff is not there i'm using both firefox 2 and 3

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Iowa
    Beans
    113
    Distro
    Xubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: issues with firefox, do i have to reinstall?

    This link should get you Swiftweasel.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1
    EPIC FAIL
    Quote Originally Posted by daengbo View Post
    Are you using Ubuntu?
    Quote Originally Posted by Pokerface1969 View Post
    No I'm not.. Should I be? What is Ubuntu?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •