Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Need help with ATI drivers not working!!!!!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    202
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Exclamation Need help with ATI drivers not working!!!!!

    OK, I have an ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT. I found Linux drivers on ATI's website for my card. I finally got them to configure under recivery mode (thats another story). They seemed to configure fine and I even found the catalyst control center. But, there's one problem, I don't have 3D and it won't let me enable desktop effects!!! I have even checked my settings. The last person I talked to (who hasn't responded ) said it might be a problem with my xorg.conf file.

    So here it is:

    Code:
    # xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    # sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    
    # Uncomment if you have a wacom tablet
    # InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
    # InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
    # InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]" 0 0
    InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
    InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "CoreKeyboard"
    Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Configured Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "CorePointer"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "stylus"
    Driver "wacom"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
    Option "Type" "stylus"
    Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "eraser"
    Driver "wacom"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
    Option "Type" "eraser"
    Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "cursor"
    Driver "wacom"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
    Option "Type" "cursor"
    Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "DELL E196FP"
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ATI Technologies Inc ATI Default Card"
    Driver "vesa"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    Driver "fglrx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "ATI Technologies Inc ATI Default Card"
    Monitor "DELL E196FP"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Modes "1280x1024" "1280x0" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
    Device "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Does anyone know if I have to change anything.


    If not how do I completely remove the ATI drivers and revert back to the xorg ones so I can just use envy.

    Thanks for any help you can provide.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Over yonder
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Need help with ATI drivers not working!!!!!

    I'm not an expert with the xorg.conf file, however, your driver is listed as 'vesa', when it should be fglrx. Vesa is the fallback driver, it doesn't support 3d. Try doing a reconfigure: sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg. Though if you're on Hardy, I think that command was replaced with X -configure.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    202
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Smile Re: Need help with ATI drivers not working!!!!!

    Will that revert me back to the xorg drivers (didn't support 3d) or my ATI drivers (3d). And should I try changing the xorg file to say flgrx (or what ever that was, I always forget).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Over yonder
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Need help with ATI drivers not working!!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Universal344 View Post
    Will that revert me back to the xorg drivers (didn't support 3d) or my ATI drivers (3d). And should I try changing the xorg file to say flgrx (or what ever that was, I always forget).
    I made a mistake. According to this howtwo, first change the vesa entry in xorg.conf to fglrx and then initialize it with sudo aticonfig --initial -f

    EDIT: Oh yeah, and restart the xserver afterwards: CTRL+ALT+Backspace. If it throws you to the terminal, you'll have to reconfigure the xserver with sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    202
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Need help with ATI drivers not working!!!!!

    I am running gibbon not hardy, does it matter???

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Over yonder
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Need help with ATI drivers not working!!!!!

    It seems different with Gutsy. According to this howto, you just change vesa to fglrx and restart the xserver.

    If it doesn't work, then you can do:sudo aticonfig --initial and then sudo aticonfig --overlay-type=Xv and restart the xserver again.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •