Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: Automount XP in 8.04???

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Automount XP in 8.04???

    Sure! Here it is:

    Code:
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
    # /dev/hda2
    UUID=ce107f6f-fce5-4f05-91ea-be3d93a7ff5e /               ext3    relatime,errors=remount-ro 0       1
    # /dev/hda3
    UUID=16f736bd-61f0-4d0e-9a42-0121d640f4f7 none            swap    sw              0       0
    /dev/hdb        /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0       0
    ## Added the following line in an effort to auto-mount XP 04/26/2008...
    /dev/hda1	/media/M500_C	ntfs	defaults,umask=007,gid=46	0	1
    FYI - whenever I modify any script I first make a back-up copy of that script and then I add notations in the script as to what I'm trying to do with the mods. I've been bitten way too many times not to follow this sequence!

    I'm surprised it worked, that some other app didn't wrest control from /etc/fstab... Sometimes we get lucky with Linux...

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Automount XP in 8.04???

    IT'S ALIVE, IT'S ALIVE!

    yap man, it worked... this was not a big deal at all... can't wait another challenge...

    thankz
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Automount XP in 8.04???

    Congrats!

    It seems in Ubuntu, and in Linux in general, there is always a way around a problem.

    Enjoy...

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    5

    Thumbs down Re: Automount XP in 8.04???

    First unmount all Other Partitions.Install ntfs-config ntfs-3g if not already installed through Synaptic Package Manager and ntfs3g.Right click Applications/Edit Menus/SystemTools and Select NTFS Configuration Editor and Close it.Go to Applications/SystemTools/Configuration editor and Configure as per your requirement.Immediately the partitions you have chosen ill appear as icons on your Desktop.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    14

    Re: Automount XP in 8.04???

    Success!! Thank you so much bsmanian! I think all my setup problems are solved now

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Automount XP in 8.04???

    thanks... a lot! I just installed the ntfs-config & ntfs-3g and I f***ed up my D:/ from my wife's Vista...

    I uninstalled it and roll back backed up fstab, but still unable to mount d:/(_ntfs)

    says am not privileged to mount the volume???!!!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Automount XP in 8.04???

    ok guys i got it... am kinda distracted with some motorcycle and police chase around my block....

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Beans
    1,087
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Automount XP in 8.04???

    Quote Originally Posted by pro003 View Post
    thanks... a lot! I just installed the ntfs-config & ntfs-3g and I f***ed up my D:/ from my wife's Vista...

    I uninstalled it and roll back backed up fstab, but still unable to mount d:/(_ntfs)

    says am not privileged to mount the volume???!!!
    You don't need to install ntfs-config or ntfs-3g to get it working.
    Here are a few checks before you edit your fstab.
    When you boot into ubuntu, even though you don't have your ntfs partitions on the desktop, they should be listed in the menu "Places". Simply click on it and it should show up on your desktop.

    Now, if you want to leave the same mount point as the ubuntu default, browse to your media folder (or in the terminal type cd /media then ls) and look at the mountpoint given to your ntfs partition (i.e. folder called backup - in my case).

    Now from the terminal, type
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    this will list all your partitions. This is what my looks like.
    Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80000000000 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9726 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x41ab2316

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 2550 20482843+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 2551 4400 14860125 83 Linux
    /dev/sda3 4401 4462 498015 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda4 4463 9725 42275016 7 HPFS/NTFS
    So from this list, I know I want to mount /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda4

    Now, from the terminal type
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/fstab
    this will open your fstab. Let's say I wanted to mount my /dev/sda1, then I would add this to the last line:
    /dev/sda1 /media/backup ntfs defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0 1
    This will mount /dev/sda1 in the /media/backup folder (as explained above)
    simply keep adding lines as you need more partitions. Save your fstab and reboot. You should now get the partitions automatically mounted and the respective icons on your desktop
    "There are 10 types of people: Those who read binary and those who don't"
    >>>"who is general failure and why is he reading my files"<<<
    The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 22367
    Howto automount NTFS - My wallpaper

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Smile Re: Automount XP in 8.04???

    Ok, I solved the problem, but I will anyway explain what happened.

    1. Could not mount automatically NTFS at ubuntu startup
    2. Solved the problem by editing /etc/fstab
    3. Read post about installing ntfs-config & ntfs-3g
    4. Screwed up line 2. by doing line 3.

    Solution was to UNDO line 2. means delete the line I've added before, then started ntfs-config and ?I was automatically asked that there isn't mounted D:/ partition and do I want to mount it, then I've checked Yes... And there I go. Problem solved.

    P.S. Even though problem was already solved by just simply editing fstab (line 2.), or look previous post above....

    that's it

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    65

    Re: Automount XP in 8.04???

    thanks! this solved my problem too.

    now i can listen to my music without having to manually mount it everything.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •