Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to use iMac as a wireless router under linux?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    103

    How to use iMac as a wireless router under linux?

    I am running OS X, linux and Windows XP with a cable modem. Occasianally I need to share with my laptop. I can do the following under Mac OSX.

    http://www.macinstruct.com/node/118

    What I would like to know is there a way I can do it with linux?

    And Windows XP? (Pushing my luck here!)

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Beans
    7,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How to use iMac as a wireless router under linux?

    Quote Originally Posted by felixdzerzhinsky View Post
    I am running OS X, linux and Windows XP with a cable modem. Occasianally I need to share with my laptop. I can do the following under Mac OSX.

    http://www.macinstruct.com/node/118

    What I would like to know is there a way I can do it with linux?

    And Windows XP? (Pushing my luck here!)

    Thanks
    In Windows, you use Internet Connection Sharing to make your machine an Access Point.

    I think you can create an AP with Ubuntu in the Network Administration tool in System > Administration, but I don't know that it will assign IPs automatically like OSX and WinXP without some other work.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    103

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    103

    Re: How to use iMac as a wireless router under linux?

    This is my setup under Ubuntu:

    Code:
    pjharper@pjharper-desktop:~$ iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"'FelixDZ'"  
              Mode:Ad-Hoc  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Cell: 56:D1:62:41:17:60   
              Bit Rate=11 Mb/s   Tx-Power:32 dBm   
              RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B   
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    pjharper@pjharper-desktop:~$ ifonfig
    bash: ifonfig: command not found
    pjharper@pjharper-desktop:~$ ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:16:cb:9c:f1:26  
              inet addr:202.93.10.220  Bcast:202.93.10.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::216:cbff:fe9c:f126/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:4902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1801 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:1843959 (1.7 MB)  TX bytes:376198 (367.3 KB)
              Interrupt:16 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:2836 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:2836 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:119112 (116.3 KB)  TX bytes:119112 (116.3 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:17:f2:96:fa:5a  
              inet addr:192.168.0.1  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::217:f2ff:fe96:fa5a/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:7 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:2592 (2.5 KB)  TX bytes:510 (510.0 B)
              Interrupt:17 Memory:4a200000-4a204000

    What do I need to do so that my Vista Machine can connect?

    Vista: Use the Following Address:

    IP Address: 192.196.0.5
    Subnet Mask:255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: ???.???.???.???


    Use the Following DNS Server:

    Preferred: ???.???.???.???

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    103

    Re: How to use iMac as a wireless router under linux?

    My /etc/network/interfaces
    #
    ## wireless bridge configuration
    #
    auto lo
    #
    iface lo inet loopback
    #

    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    auto eth0

    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet static
    wireless-key c!)ck
    wireless-channel 6
    wireless-mode ad-hoc
    wireless-essid 'FelixDZ'
    address 192.168.0.2
    gateway 192.168.0.1
    netmask 255.255.255.0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    103

    Re: How to use iMac as a wireless router under linux? {SOLVED}

    Problem Solved

    The problem was that I had to remove the reference to "gateway" in my /etc/network/interfaces

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet static
            wireless-key 1234567890
             wireless-channel 6
             wireless-mode ad-hoc
             wireless-essid 'FelixDZWDC'
             address 192.168.0.1
             netmask 255.255.255.0
    Another command that helped in troubleshooting this was:
    Code:
    route -n
    Thanks to Lynet on IRC.

    This would probably work on any PC as well as an iMac. Still I hope the developers will make something a little easier in the future.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •