Thread: missing taskbar

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

missing taskbar

Hi, I'm a total noob at using linux and after a successful installation of Ubuntu, I installed VLC packages and to free resources I uninstalled Totem.

The thing is that suddenly my taskbar (the upper bar and the one from below too) disappeared and I can't make them appear again, even if I restart the system it's still missing.

In any case, to some extent the computer is usable, the icons that I had on my desktop allow me to access some programs and some of my files, but that's it, does anyone know how can I fix this?

PS> if it involves using the command lines, please explain easily cause I'm very new at using it thanks!

Beans

Re: missing taskbar

same problem here, also after installing stuff. No solution yet.

Beans

I was trying to find a way to create new panels, but no joy.

However, you might have some luck if you create a new user account.

Hit alt+F2 to open a magic run application dialogue. Input users-admin and hit run. You can create a new user to login to with this. Ideally, they will have panels. If so, migrate your files into this new directory or leave them in your other user profile. If you leave them there, you can cripple the second profile so it is only usable as a storage area.

Alternatively, a clean install after salvaging your data should clear up the problem.

Beans

hey! same problem here...the thing is that i was pimping up my newly installe hardy heron and had some problems with the screen resolution with the nvidia-settings package, meanwhile i was installing some other packages (i don't quite remember which one, but they had nothing to do with desktop settings nor screen)...to solve this screen resolutions i use the nvidia-settings package...it all went find until i restart my pc...when i found i've lost my taskbars (both of them) and the screen resoution all mixed up...any clue how to restore them?

Beans