Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: 8.04 connection troubles

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    21
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: 8.04 connection troubles

    Can you post the results to this for me

    Code:
    dmesg | grep eth

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New York
    Beans
    1,118
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: 8.04 connection troubles

    I get:

    Code:
    [   42.160421] forcedeth: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.61.
    [   42.678475] forcedeth 0000:00:11.0: ifname eth0, PHY OUI 0x5043 @ 1, addr 00:18:f3:b7:08:12
    [   42.678479] forcedeth 0000:00:11.0: highdma csum vlan pwrctl mgmt timirq gbit lnktim msi desc-v3
    [   43.197666] forcedeth 0000:00:12.0: ifname eth1, PHY OUI 0x5043 @ 1, addr 00:18:f3:b7:13:11
    [   43.197670] forcedeth 0000:00:12.0: highdma csum vlan pwrctl mgmt timirq gbit lnktim msi desc-v3
    [   43.214506] Driver 'sd' needs updating - please use bus_type methods
    [   43.215364]  sda:<4>Driver 'sr' needs updating - please use bus_type methods
    [   53.822011] eth1: no link during initialization.
    I'd love to update my drivers, but it's harder without a connection.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: 8.04 connection troubles

    have you tried manually entering the ip address in the network manager?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New York
    Beans
    1,118
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: 8.04 connection troubles

    Yup, I did that copying the address that windows had assigned me and that seems to work there.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: 8.04 connection troubles

    have you tried pinging the router when it is manually assigned?assign ip manually and then post ifconfig results and also type ping 192.168.1.1 if 192.168.1.1 is your router ip and post results here

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    15

    Re: 8.04 connection troubles

    Did a full install on my crappy Compaq laptop (using a generic Atheros wireless and the default HP wired). Everything installed perfectly but I ended up with the same issue you report.
    Even looking at my router (Buffalo with tomato firmware) I can see both devices being assigned IPs but I could do nothing with the connections. Restarting networking and even the whole machine never helped.
    Until I specified my DNS -- both connections immediately began working. For some reason the networking in 8.04 is not getting all the info my router was providing. Vista and XP get it correctly. I have not tried this machine on other networks yet to see if it is an issue with my router or with the networking itself.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New York
    Beans
    1,118
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: 8.04 connection troubles

    As I have already stated I have been using open dns dns servers, entered into the dns servers, I have also tried using a manually assigned ip address.

    What exactly are you looking from ifconfig, as I would like to provide just that information using a second computer rather that having to reboot just to copy and paste.
    Last edited by hwttdz; April 28th, 2008 at 06:15 AM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    PDX
    Beans
    45

    Re: 8.04 connection troubles

    I am having the same problem. Updated from Gutsy to Hardy and have no internet connection (wired or wireless). I reinstalled my wireless drivers and now my wireless light is blue, yet when I try connecting to my router I can't get an IP address.

    This is incredibly frustrating.

    Update, I can connect to the Internet as long as I manually enter the IP.
    Last edited by josel777; April 28th, 2008 at 06:37 AM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Beans
    16
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: 8.04 connection troubles

    Same thing here. Updated from Gutsy 7.10 to hardy 8.04 and no internet. When I first installed Gutsy two months ago I had to do nothing to get my wired connection running-
    Anyway, I've tried going through connection manager but had no luck. I'm using my windows laptop (yuck!) and I can't find a decent procedure to get my connection back. I've read other posts that talk about b43-fwcutter and broadcom but I've no idea what those are for.. Please help me get back to my ubuntu box!

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...pdate+internet

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Beans
    435

    Re: 8.04 connection troubles

    Same here, the advice given is a repeat of the advice given to others with same/similar problems.

    Here is my problem reposted: hope this helps someone to get to the root of problem.
    -------------------------------------------------
    I have just installed kubuntu hardy and now have issues connecting to internet.

    Konqueror displays "ubuntuforums.org contacted. waiting for reply"

    I can ping above web address and ifconfig shows:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:7d:2b:40:df
    inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::21d:7dff:fe2b:40df/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:85 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:134 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:25786 (25.1 KB) TX bytes:22812 (22.2 KB)
    Interrupt:223 Base address:0x2000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    knetworkmanager shows that I am receiving and transmitting data.

    On occasions konqueror progress bar shows 75% and then freezes but no info is shown on screen.

    Any one got an idea whats going on
    The world is your playground why don't you play.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •