Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Hardy installed; no sound or composite

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    12

    Hardy installed; no sound or composite

    Hi,

    I just installed Hardy today, and it would appear I no longer have audio support or ATI graphics support, although these worked when I installed the beta a few weeks ago. I've never really had a problem with this before...

    I used the alternate installer, and no funky errors were given, as far as I can tell.

    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility X1400

    They show up in lspci, but the graphics card is definitely not in the restricted drivers manager.

    I wonder if I should just go
    Code:
    apt-get install xorg-driver-fglrx
    Don't have any idea about the audio though.

    Sorry if a solution is posted elsewhere.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Beans
    3,804
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Hardy installed; no sound or composite

    Quote Originally Posted by gutterballk7 View Post
    Hi,
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
    Don't have any idea about the audio though.
    Please post the output of
    Code:
    lsmod | grep snd
    that will tell us the current sound position.
    Cheers,PRShah
    Make your own: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Mythbuntu All-in-One Live DVD
    "I never make mistakes; I thought I did, once.. but I was wrong."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    12

    Re: Hardy installed; no sound or composite

    No output whatsoever.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    12

    Re: Hardy installed; no sound or composite

    It would also appear that my wireless was not installed because it did not show up in the restricted manager. Ugh, this feels like Windows! lol

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    205
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Hardy installed; no sound or composite

    edit: I now have sound
    Last edited by ndstate; April 25th, 2008 at 07:42 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    12

    Re: Hardy installed; no sound or composite

    Perhaps there is something wrong with my alternate install cd. I went and torrented the desktop CD and now that works fine. Sound, wireless, and graphics. Hoorah. So, my problem is "solved."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    10

    Re: Hardy installed; no sound or composite

    I also have no sound, doing a 'lspci' gives me
    Code:
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
    doing 'lsmod | grep snd' gives me

    Code:
    snd_rtctimer            4640  0 
    snd_hda_intel         344728  7 
    snd_pcm_oss            42144  0 
    snd_mixer_oss          17920  2 snd_pcm_oss
    snd_pcm                78596  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss
    snd_page_alloc         11400  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    snd_hwdep              10500  1 snd_hda_intel
    snd_seq_dummy           4868  0 
    snd_seq_oss            35584  0 
    snd_seq_midi            9376  0 
    snd_rawmidi            25760  1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq_midi_event      8320  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq                54224  6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_timer              24836  4 snd_rtctimer,snd_pcm,snd_seq
    snd_seq_device          9612  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    snd                    56996  22 snd_rtctimer,snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_hwdep,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    soundcore               8800  2 snd
    I haven't really played around with ubuntu lately, but I know when I had 7.10 installed it worked correctly, and it worked when I put the live cd of 8.04 in.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    10

    Re: Hardy installed; no sound or composite

    Nevermind I just figured it out, in the sound preferences, I changed my 'Default Mixer Tracks' to Analog Devices AD1981 (OSS Mixer), when I had that setting on HDA Intel (alsa mixer) nothing would play back.

    I also changed everything above that to the ALSA mixer and it worked just fine.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: Hardy installed; no sound or composite

    I also have no sound on my Sony Vaio TR2MP

    My driver is Intel 82801DB-ICH4 (Alsa Mixer)

    The sound just doesnt come out, there doesnt seem to be any missing driver or anything though.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Hardy installed; no sound or composite

    There seems to be a solution here, but its using some KDE application settings.

    Would be keen to resolve this under Xubuntu (Xfce4) or via the command line.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •