Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: can't install anything from terminal, update manager, etc

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    can't install anything from terminal, update manager, etc

    Hi

    I'm behind a proxy server at my college dorm. I dont know much about how they work but usually I enter it as www-cache.une.edu.au port 8080 or as an automatic configuration script at http://proxy.une.edu.au/proxy.

    I put the first one with username and password in the Network Proxy settings under System > Administration but whenever I try to install anything via the terminal or through the update manager it doesn't work.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Beans
    2,086
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: can't install anything from terminal, update manager, etc

    there are quite a few bugs reported about this
    https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bugs?f...ty%2C-severity

    you could try https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...536/comments/2

    or you could use the CD update method
    http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/upgrading

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK near Bedford
    Beans
    3,481
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: can't install anything from terminal, update manager, etc

    what symptoms?

    Is this just today?

    PC

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: can't install anything from terminal, update manager, etc

    thanks for your replies, yes this is today after I installed hardy over my old gutsy partition. I tried the CD upgrade before but it couldn't install, i dont really remember the message. So I tried the installation from scratch. It used to work fine under gutsy.

    I can now install from the terminal but not from synaptic or anything else. How do i put the proxy settings into apt.conf, as suggested in the bug report?

    Also when I go into hardware drivers and look at my wireless (BC4318) it says 'in use' even though its not enabled.

    thanks again for your help

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Beans
    2,086
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: can't install anything from terminal, update manager, etc

    i have not used proxy settings for apt before, but the documentation seems to be in

    Code:
    man apt.conf
    to get broadcom working i think you just need to install the package.

    bcm43xx-fwcutter

    but you'll need to do it with network working, so that it can grap the firmware from the web. i don't know how you set it's proxy. otherwise you will have to manually download the firmware, and run the fwcutter on it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: can't install anything from terminal, update manager, etc

    hi thanks again for your reply, I tried a few times to install the bcm43xx-fwcutter from the hardy CD but like you said it needed to download the firmware from the web but I should be able to look up how to do it manually.

    as for the synaptic, I opened the apt.conf file and it seems to have my proxy settings in it but I still can't get anything off synaptic.

    my apt.conf file says
    Code:
    Acquire::http::Proxy "http://www-cache.une.edu.au:8080@bhaniffa:password/";
    Is this problem solvable for the update managager at all or will I just have to use workarounds? If so I might have to move back to gutsy, though according to the launchpad note it was a bug in previous releases as well, so I dont know why its stopped working on this one when it worked on feisty and gutsy? But anyway its only a day out.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK near Bedford
    Beans
    3,481
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: can't install anything from terminal, update manager, etc

    just to check, can you use sudo ok? If you do sudo <any command> what happens.

    There is a bug to do with having a long (multi-word) hostname in /etc/hostname.

    If you do get a problem with this go to recovery mode and edit your hostname to a single word.

    PC

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •