Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    30

    Re: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

    After seeing the pics in this thread, I'm glad I grabbed the torrent for a fresh install.

    For me it takes around 5 minutes to actually find the repo and start the download, then it crawls in at an amazingly slow speed.

    WTB Thunderbird.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    26

    Re: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

    I didn't even bother trying to download from the server. I set up my new FIOS on the torrent and had both the desktop and the alternate images in less than 45 minutes. Of course I've left them on @ home uploading like mad to help people get their images downloaded.

    These are the days it really helps to participate in the torrent to give a little bit of bandwidth back to the community. Tonight I will probably throttle down my torrent upload speed so I can surf the net myself.

    have fun

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    88

    Re: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

    Quote Originally Posted by Haluci View Post
    The torrents are available for the CDs, not for the updates. You can find the torrents in the release page.

    Oh, and if you think your speed is bad, just look at mine:

    Having the update system utilize bittorrents for future upgrades would be interesting. Has anyone proposed this yet?

    (\ /)
    (O.o)
    (> <)
    This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    6

    Re: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

    Quote Originally Posted by keithcleaver View Post
    EDIT: To answer my own question, I'm using an Australian server now, and things are moving along at about three times speed of the European servers.
    Works like a charm!

    Edit: sort of.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    61

    Cool Re: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

    Yup Slow Here... Download of .iso took an hour, normally 10 min or so...Got it installed took ten minutes to refresh Synaptic Package manager... Won't load nVidia driver... Hopefully this slowdown is why. so now I have a computer that is running at 800 X 600... Lol Used to (1680 x 1050) And its hard to do stuff on such a low res screen. Some buttons at the bottom of the window are hard to get to. (Got to do the alt click to move windows off the screen to get to the bottom settings.) Hopefully this Hiccup ends soon.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    25

    Re: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

    I wasn't able to connect to the US archive at all. I looked at the list of mirrors here:
    https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+archivemirrors

    The Rochester Institute of Technology mirror is pretty fast for me.
    There are lots of options to choose from though...

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    332
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

    I lost connection or something because I just came back and it said failed to fetch stuff. So I just restarted

    Fetching 1 of 15 and it's not going anywhere.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    332
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

    Quote Originally Posted by DROP View Post
    I wasn't able to connect to the US archive at all. I looked at the list of mirrors here:
    https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+archivemirrors

    The Rochester Institute of Technology mirror is pretty fast for me.
    There are lots of options to choose from though...
    Sweet thanks I found one that's uptodate now and it's downloading well.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    48

    Re: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

    Yeah, I recommend going to a different server. It worked great for me.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Qingdao, China
    Beans
    84

    Re: Hardy is slow because servers are full?

    Meh, unless I figure out how to change my mirror for the archive, I'll be waiting a few days to update i guess.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •