Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    52

    mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

    Hi,

    I have a Sony Plug n Play mp3 player (so sonicstage isn't needed), and it worked always perfectly on Gutsy. recently I switched to Hardy RC2, but when I connect my mp3 player, it doesn't automatically mount.

    After some research (sudo fdisk -l) I found out my mp3 player was connected, bit Gnome just didn't mount it. So when I manually mount it
    Code:
    sudo mount -t vfat /dev/sdf1 /media/WALKMAN
    It just worked, although I can't edit anything, I can't add any files, I can't delete something. Howe can I fix this?

    Thanks in advance
    Last edited by Sh4wn; April 23rd, 2008 at 03:33 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    52

    Re: mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

    Well, I found out, I can write and edit etc when I start nautilus under root, but it's still strange why my mp3 player doesn't automatically mount..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Biosphere
    Beans
    167
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

    try modifying your fstab. back it up before you edit it.
    How to fstab

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Miss Gulf Coast
    Beans
    34
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

    I also have a Sony Walman MP3 model NWZ-S615F. It mounted in 7.10, although I recall having some issues with stability in transfering files. Now with 8.04 it doesn't auto mount. So I need to mod my fstab file I thought.. but then I saw the below info on another forum post. Now I'm not sure what to do. Anyone have a good step by step procedure for making these players mountable and writable for MP3s?

    post I found:

    automount of vfat memory devices can be affected by the upgrade to Hardy 8.04

    Here is a solution:
    Open Applications > System Tools > Configuration Editor

    Go to the key system > storage > default_options > vfat
    Edit the mount_options key by removing the usefree option.

    You may need to reboot.
    The devices should then automount when plugged in: i.e. the icon will appear on the desktop.

    I emailed one of the developers involved, Martin Pitt.
    Quote:

    That's indeed the right solution. 'usefree' is deprecated in Hardy (it
    was only a temporary hack in Gutsy), and thus the gnome-mount
    option 'usefree' has been removed in Hardy again.

    You need it in Gutsy to avoid minute-long hangs when mounting a VFAT
    drive. In Hardy this was fixed properly in the kernel.
    Long Live Linux!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    52

    Re: mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

    Hmm, I don't have an option usefree here..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Miss Gulf Coast
    Beans
    34
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

    yeah I noticed that too after checking it out myself... it appears that might be for a different distro.. not ubuntu.

    I was able to mount my Sony Walkman (manually) using pmount

    STEP 1: Acquiring the device ID

    -------- To list your devices, first connect your USB device (it does not need to be mounted). Then -------- type:

    ls /dev/disk/by-label -lah


    STEP 2: Mounting the Player

    pmount /dev/<device ID> Walkman

    ------- “creates a directory in /media/ by the name of Walkman, and mounts the device there”

    ------- Note: To unmount use :

    pumount Walkman
    Long Live Linux!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    52

    Re: mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

    AH great, that works better indeed

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

    Ah yea! Finally a working solution, many thanks man!
    RED STATE? BLUE STATE? HOW ABOUT A FREE STATE?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dublin
    Beans
    19
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

    Hi, folks.

    I'm having the same problem with my Walkman (which I didn't before upgrading to Hardy) and I'm not sure about what number to use as the device ID.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Miss Gulf Coast
    Beans
    34
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: mp3 player does not auto mount, but I can manually mount it.

    plug in your player.. open the terminal and type this:

    ls /dev/disk/by-label -lah

    Then post your results here. We can help point it out to you.
    Long Live Linux!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •