Thread: Network Manager, Passphrase & Keyring, 7.10

Hybrid View

Beans

Network Manager, Passphrase & Keyring, 7.10

I know this has been asked before, but I'm wondering if there is a solution other than "install wicd". I'd like to stick with the distribution configuration where possible.

My wireless card works fine *except* that I am prompted for the WPA passphrase periodically. The WPA key has been saved in the login keyring. I am not prompted for my keyring password, but for the WPA passphrase.

Is there a way to make things work without roaming (I only need to connect to one network, this is a desktop machine)? Does 8.04 fix this problem?

I am new to Ubuntu and to Linux desktop in general, but I have been running Debian servers for years, so I'm familiar with the command line.

Thanks!

Beans

was NM Passphrase etc. now USB Wireless problem?

I've switched to WiCD, and had some challenges setting the passphrase. I got it working, and am still having some sort of problem I had before, in that the dang thing has to reconnect too often. I have "78%" to "80%" signal as reported by Network Manager.

The issue hits me hardest when I'm trying to use Remote Desktop from work. Things work OK until I do something (not sure what) computer intensive, and then the machine goes off the network. When I get home I'm usually being prompted for a passphrase.

Is there an issue specific to USB wireless (Linksys USB) involving dropped connections? There are no other noise sources in the room, and my WinXP Thinkpad T60 works flawlessly with wireless.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

Re: Network Manager, Passphrase & Keyring, 7.10

I did notice this problem while running 7.10, when the network connection would sometimes drop out. Once it had dropped out, it would never successfully reconnect - every time I entered the password, the dialog would reappear about 5 seconds later.