Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sound in VirtualBox but not in Ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Sound in VirtualBox but not in Ubuntu

    Hey there,

    Please excuse my complete n00bness, but i know forum etiquette and have searched on here and google, to no avail!

    my problem is that my windows virtual box (running in seamless mode ) has perfect sound, but now my ubuntu gutsy doesn't have any!

    a reboot will fix the problem, and if i shut down the virtual box ubuntu gets sound again!

    i know it's an easy fix, but due the lack of experience on my part i don't know how to fix it! i need both to have sound!

    Please help!

    thanks in advance
    Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    2

    Re: Sound in VirtualBox but not in Ubuntu

    check if the audio is enable for ubuntu in the VBOX settings...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Sound in VirtualBox but not in Ubuntu

    ... sorry if you've gotten confused, i may not have explained it clear enough... I'm running ubuntu, and have a windows virtual box on it. So my system is ubuntu 7.10 gutsy, and i have a virtual Windows XP box running on it.

    when the windows virtual pc is on, ubuntu stops getting sound. When i shut the virtual windows pc down, my ubuntu gets sound again. if that makes sence...

    unless your saying there is a setting in innotek virtualbox that tells it to put sound for both my system and the virtual box?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Sound in VirtualBox but not in Ubuntu

    anyone?

    need it sorted asap

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Sound in VirtualBox but not in Ubuntu

    anyone?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    34

    Re: Sound in VirtualBox but not in Ubuntu

    It has to do with the sound drivers for linux. If I recall correctly there are two ways to run sound, one only allows one program to access sound at a time.

    I think Hardy Heron 8.04 has some sort of update regarding this.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •