Page 4 of 60 FirstFirst ... 234561454 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 591

Thread: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    A galaxy far, far away...
    Beans
    2,800

    Re: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

    Quote Originally Posted by keypox View Post
    how can i get windows to minimize to avant not to the bar on the bottom? I thought i had it working last night but now it is not. Im running 8.04, the manager has no option to do so?
    You have to remove the other window list, avant is intended to replace that bar, not supplement it.
    "Whoever said sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain." - K. Jackson
    Exaile Media Player | Arch Linux
    Click here to have your brain eaten

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    A galaxy far, far away...
    Beans
    2,800

    Re: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

    Quote Originally Posted by martin saint martin View Post
    i was just wondering where i might find some themes for awn? at this point it looks like all i've got is the default theme.
    There's no central place to find them, so google's your best bet.
    "Whoever said sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain." - K. Jackson
    Exaile Media Player | Arch Linux
    Click here to have your brain eaten

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    91
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

    My active tasks are not appearing in my AWN, what do I do. I am on Hardy.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Beans
    95
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

    Quote Originally Posted by Payteer View Post
    My active tasks are not appearing in my AWN, what do I do. I am on Hardy.
    I'm also on Hardy and seeing some strange behavior.
    I couldn't get the launchers to show up at first, after I got the launchers to show up I can't get active tasks to show now.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    10

    Re: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

    Regarding the unresponsive launchers, I seem to have solved the problem by rerverting back to the 'standard' version of AWN. That is: the non-SVN version that is currently avaiable from Hardy's own repositories.

    Although it doesn't have the -core package (and thus no applets etc. - but please correct me if I'm wrong) all the launchers -DO- work.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    105
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

    thanks for the guide , but ive an styling issue

    at your old guide, also the applications' positions were curved, now they don't at startup

    i also have an issue, if a new application is opened, it stays a bit more top position from normal, i don't know if this is normal, but their position would be cool next to the applets

    with this screenshot you can understand my issue better


    (firefox and amarok's positions are a bit more upper than normal applets, sometimes other applets go up , too. and mouse hover , or opening a new applicaiton doesn't fix the issue)


    when a bit more programs were opened , it ( with it, i mean the shape that applications' position generate) looks much more like a curve, but shouldn't it be a smooth curve at screenshot ? like i was using at your old guide

    thanks for this great guide
    Last edited by SoulSmasher; April 25th, 2008 at 11:55 PM.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Beans
    95
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

    To follow up on my post:
    The launchers only launch one instance of the program. I cannot launch 2 firefox applications. Also the active tasks do show in an area separated from the launchers by a vertical bar, however, only the tasks that were started NOT from the launchers show up in active task list. The task that I start using the launchers do not show up anywhere.

    I downloaded the AWN using the standard Hardy repository, not the BZR one.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    297

    Re: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

    Quote Originally Posted by reacocard View Post
    You have to remove the other window list, avant is intended to replace that bar, not supplement it.
    Ok i removed the bottom bar but that didnt do anything but remove it. Still windwos do not minimize to the avant thing.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    A galaxy far, far away...
    Beans
    2,800

    Re: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

    Quote Originally Posted by keypox View Post
    Ok i removed the bottom bar but that didnt do anything but remove it. Still windwos do not minimize to the avant thing.
    it may require a reboot to take full effect.
    "Whoever said sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain." - K. Jackson
    Exaile Media Player | Arch Linux
    Click here to have your brain eaten

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    A galaxy far, far away...
    Beans
    2,800

    Re: HOWTO: functional eye-candy with Avant-Window-Navigator

    Quote Originally Posted by SoulSmasher View Post
    thanks for the guide , but ive an styling issue

    at your old guide, also the applications' positions were curved, now they don't at startup

    i also have an issue, if a new application is opened, it stays a bit more top position from normal, i don't know if this is normal, but their position would be cool next to the applets

    with this screenshot you can understand my issue better


    (firefox and amarok's positions are a bit more upper than normal applets, sometimes other applets go up , too. and mouse hover , or opening a new applicaiton doesn't fix the issue)


    when a bit more programs were opened , it ( with it, i mean the shape that applications' position generate) looks much more like a curve, but shouldn't it be a smooth curve at screenshot ? like i was using at your old guide

    thanks for this great guide
    it's a known bug with curves, and one of the reason curve's isn't available via awn-manager yet. no fixes at this point.
    "Whoever said sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain." - K. Jackson
    Exaile Media Player | Arch Linux
    Click here to have your brain eaten

Page 4 of 60 FirstFirst ... 234561454 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •