Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Google Captcha

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Denmark - Copenhagen
    Beans
    2,162

    Google Captcha

    I got this the other day:
    http://google.com/sorry/

    Anybody else got it?

    I searched for "Du pont".

    Could this be because of my TMN firefox extention?

    I haven't seen it since, just curios if anybody else got it?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    72

    Re: Google Captcha

    Ive seen this before with other search terms.
    "A fool works hard to earn his paycheck, but a wise man works hard so he doesn't need one."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Google Captcha

    Are you surfing through an anonymity network like TOR? This could also be the reason.
    Recommended Resources: Ubuntu Linux Resources

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    793
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Google Captcha

    i've seen it happen a few times myself.

    it's nothing to do with TOR. Google scans search requests and if there is a large number of requests going to a specific site via google it automatically sticks in that warning page (incase of a Google Bomb) or what ever it's called to hype up a sites standings on the lists.
    Laters...
    Sol
    "Have you found the secrets of the universe? Asked Zebade "I'm sure I left them here somewhere" User numbers: Ubuntu 23772 Linux 477911

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    181

    Re: Google Captcha

    I've seen it too. I was searching for something Final Fantasy XI map-related, and since Gold/Gil-Farmers run massive searches on Google all the time, many searches get flagged.
    The views expressed in this post belong to Tristam Green and do not represent the views of any other entity, foreign or domestic, as long as you both shall live, Amen.
    OMG! Cheesecake! | Fuduntu - catch the fever!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Beans
    1,678
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Google Captcha

    How is it, then, that it always takes *at least* 2 tries to get the CAPTCHA right on Blogger (owned by Google) when I'm an actual human? I swear, I type what it says, and it tells me I'm wrong. Today it had me try 5 times then it just took the darned textbox away! If humans that can actual read the text can't do it, how are computers doing it?

    LinuxChix | Linux User #432169 | Ubuntu User #8495 | IRC: maco @ irc.linuxchix.org or irc.freenode.net

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Google Captcha

    This happens to me when I'm online during the night. Since many people leave bots on at night (at least it makes sense to)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •